You are here: HomeNews2019 09 28Article 784505

Politics of Saturday, 28 September 2019

Source: Class FM

Sanda wins; four other MMDCEs lose NPP primaries in Upper West

Click to read all about coronavirus →

Four out of the five Metropolitan, Municipal and District Chief Executives (MMDCEs) who contested in the parliamentary primaries of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Upper West have lost.

Class FM’s Upper West Regional Correspondent, Dan Hassan reported on Saturday, 28 September 2019, that only Imoro Naadi Sanda of the Daffiama-Busie-Issa District won the election in his constituency to represent the party in the 2020 parliamentary election.

Edward Laabiiri Sabo (Wa West), Catherine Bombanye Amadu (Jirapa), Issahaku Tahiru Moomin (Wa Central) and Catherine Lankono (Nadowli/Kaleo) could not succeed in their bid to represent the party.

Below are the provisional results from the six constituencies of the Upper West Region.


Paul Derigubah - 352 votes (WINNER)

Christine Bonbanye Amadu - 185 votes

Alex Taabazuing - 45 votes


Mac Adams Banda - 192

Edward Laabiiri Sabo -197 (WINNER)

Daniel Dari Kuunsogno – 224


Katherine Lankono -159

Wing Commander Eric Dakurah (rtd) -1

Elvis Botaa - 277 (WINNER)

Cornelius Belbaa - 65


Hajia Humu Awudu - 302 (WINNER)

Salifu Abubakar Orison -7

Issahaku Moomin Tahiru - 260

Janet Bibii Bashiru -16

Alhaji Ahmed Froko – 208


Abdul Mujeed Kele - 41

Dr Elias Kavinah Sory - 38

Felix Naah - 44 votes

Kanyiri D. Yakubu - 10

Imoro Naadi Sanda -130 (WINNER)


1. Stephen Delle -33

2. Stephen Bemile - 46

3. Bright Yelviel-Dong Baligi – 201 (WINNER)

4. John Dougar Baloroo - 99

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter