You are here: HomeNews2018 07 09Article 667098

General News of Monday, 9 July 2018

Source: Albert Amekudzi

Rotaract Club of Accra Labone gets new directors

Rotaract Club of Accra Labone has sworn in new Board of Directors for the 2018/2019 Rotary year.

The new Directors will manage the Club from July 2018 to June 2019 under the theme “Be the Inspiration”.

Speaking at the brief handing over ceremony in Accra last Friday, the Immediate Past President, Geraldo De-Lima said last Rotary year was a challenging year for the club since “we could not execute all our planned activities. But it is my hope that the new Board will be able to do a great job.”

Mr. De-Lima, thanked the former Board members for their support during his tenure as president and encouraged them to support the new Board noting that “I will make myself available and support the new board for a better Rotaract Club of Accra Labone.”

In a brief remark, the new President, Albert Amekudzi thanked the club for the opportunity to serve as president for the 2018/2019 Rotary year and noted that despite the challenges ahead, there is hope for the Club.

Mr. Amekudzi recalled that the club used to be the pacesetter for Rotaract Clubs in Ghana over the years, but the situation changed in recent times.

This he noted needs to be reversed for the club to take its rightful place again with some of its signature service projects such Tour Du Labone and Farmers’ Day Projects.

The new president said the new Board will seek to grow its membership, embark on new projects, create public awareness for the club and partner with other Rotaract Clubs in the country for other activities.

“We need to work together as a team to rebuild our club through strategic partnerships, membership growth, and service projects as well as social media and traditional media publicity,” he added.

Albert Amekudzi, New President (R) being given the symbol of office by Rotarian Past President Mercy (L)

Other members of the Board are Liana Abena Faamea, Vice President; Lauren Eyram Fometu, Secretary; Joana Mensah, Treasurer; Past President Ekow Quandzie, Membership Director; Past President Nicholas Adjei, Sargent at Arms; Daniel Ansah, Club Administrator, Ebenezer Obuobi Asante, Projects Director and Immediate Past President Geraldo De-Lima, Sponsorship Director.