You are here: HomeNews2012 12 13Article 259349

Sports News of Thursday, 13 December 2012

Source: GhanaWeb

Provisional squad for AFCON 2013 out

Ghana has named a provisional 26-member squad for the 2013 Orange Africa Cup of Nations.

Black Stars coach Kwesi Appiah made public the squad on Thursday, more than a month to the opening match of the 29th edition of the continental showpiece football tournament fixed for 19 January to 10 February in South Africa.

There were no places for defender Samuel Inkoom, who plays for Ukrainian side Dnipro whilst Jordan Ayew youngest son of Ghana legend Abedi Pele, all members of the team for the previous tournament earlier this year.

Also left out was Abdul Majeed Warris, golden boot winner in the just ended Swedish elite division, with 23 goals.

Local sensation, Yahaya Mohamed, top scorer in the Ghana Premier League with eight goals from 10 matches made the squad, together with four other local-based players. Only 12-members of the provisional squad were part of the team that placed fourth at the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations held in Gabon and Equatorial Guinea.

According to the Black Stars coach, the team will hold a training camp in the Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates from 7-16 January to fine tune for the tournament. However, Appiah will unveil his final 23-man squad on January 9. On January 10, the Black Stars will face Egypt in an international friendly before engaging Tunisia three days later, both in Abu Dhabi.

Ghana is housed in Group B alongside DR Congo, Mali and Niger.

Goalkeepers: Adam Kwarasey (Stromsgodset, Norway), Fatau Dauda (AshantiGold, Ghana), Daniel Adjei (Liberty Professionals, Ghana)
Defenders: John Paintsil (Hapoel Tel-Aviv, Israel), Harrison Afful (Esperance, Tunisia), Mubarak Wakaso (Espanyol, Spain), Richard Kissi Boateng (Berekum Chelsea, Ghana), John Boye (Rennes, France), Jonathan Mensah (Evian, France), Isaac Vorsah (Red Bull Salzburg, Austria), Jerry Akaminko (Eskisehirspor, Turkey), Rashid Sumaila (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Awal Mohammed (Maritzburg United, South Africa).
Midfielders: Andre Ayew (Marseille, France), Christian Atsu (FC Porto, Portugal), Anthony Annan (Osasuna, Spain), Derek Boateng (Dnipro, Ukraine), Solomon Asante (Berekum Chelsea, Ghana), Emmanuel Agyemang Badu (Udinese, Italy), Kwadwo Asamoah (Juventus, Italy), Albert Adomah (Bristol City, England), Rabiu Mohammed (Evian, France)
Forwards: Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain, UAE), Emmanuel Clottey (Esperance, Tunisia), Richmond Boakye Yiadom (Sassoulo, Italy), Yahaya Mohammed (Amidaus Professionals, Ghana)