General News of Thursday, 2 February 2017


Probe Joy FM, others – Gen. Mosquito urges Ghartey Committee

The General Secretary of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC), Johnson Asiedu Nketia has called on the five-member Committee tasked to look into the parliamentary bribery scandal to consider probing Joy FM, an Accra based radio station.

Speaking with Atinka FM’s morning show host Ekourba Gyasi on Wednesday, Johnson Asiedu Nketia mentioned that Multimedia’s Joy Fm and other media houses published stories on their online portals to the effect that Mahama Ayariga made up the story "to equalize the corruption allegation made against former President Mahama".

“All these media houses should appear before the committee to establish if they played a role in the scandal," Mr Nketia, affectionately called General Mosquito noted.

The Speaker of Parliament, Mike Oquaye on 31st January set up a five member committee to investigate the bribery scandal involving the Appointments Committee and the Energy Minister, Boakye Agyarko.

The committee headed by former Attorney General, Joe Ghartey has four other members. They are Offinso South MP, Ben Abdallah Banda, Offinso South, MP Ben Abdallah Banda, Juaben MP, Ama Pomaa Boateng, Talensi MP, Benson Tongo Baba and Yilo Krobo MP, Magnus Kofi Amoatey.

The three MPs-Mahama Ayariga, Alhassan Suhuyini, and Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa who made the allegation are expected to give evidence in camera when the committee begins sittings.

The committee is expected to establish if First Deputy Speaker Joseph Osei-Owusu took money from Energy Minister Boakye Agyarko and gave it to Minority Chief Whip Alhaji Mubarak Mohammed Muntaka.

It has also been tasked to do an internal inquiry to find out whether there were attempts to bribe members of Appointments Committee.