You are here: HomeNews2018 04 16Article 643409

Politics of Monday, 16 April 2018

Source: Nana Boateng

Prince Akyereko wins NPP Canada youth organizer position by landslide

A group photograph of some old and new executives A group photograph of some old and new executives

Mr. Prince Akyereko, last Saturday defeated his main challenger Kwaku Quaye by landslide in the NPP Canada elections to become the new Youth Organizer.

Out of total valid votes cast, Prince Akyereko polled 79 while his challenger Kwaku Quaye polled 21 representing 77% of eligible voters.
In a post election interview with the press, Mr. Akyereko commended the executives of the party for the free,fair and transparent elections.

Mr. Akyereko promised to honor all his electoral promises of increasing the party's electoral fortunes, creating an open door policy and work hard to support President Nana Akufo-Addo’s administration to create wealth and jobs for all Ghanaians irrespective of one's political,religious and tribal leanings.

The former SRC Secretary of Sunyani Technical University promised to increase the party's membership drive and make the Canada branch of the party more attractive to the youth.

He also assured delegates to put in place a plan that recognizes individual talents and work with all youth to make sure NPP retains power and succeed.
Mr. Akyereko, a Senior Business Analyst with TD Bank Group is a native of Nsoatre in the Brong Ahafo Region.

He holds degree in Business Information Technology, MBA with specialization in Business Analytics, HND Marketing, Postgraduate Certificate in Information Systems Analysis.

Mr. Akyereko aside politics is an accomplished writer with four books published to his credit namely
The Irresponsible Father, Ananse,
Oh! My Dear Lover, Dapaa, The Indisciplined Son & The Untimely Death and Ananse and the Golden Tree.

Dignitaries present at the congress were Kwadwo Owusu Afriyie, Sir John, Hon. Ayikoi Otoo, Ghana’s Ambassador to Canada and former Attorney General in Kufuor’s administration, Mr. Thomas F. K. Seshie (Consul-General) and Deputy Foreign Affairs Minister, Hon. Mohammad Habibu Tijani.

At the same congress, Mr. Kwame Abrefah, a lawyer by profession was elected NPP Canada’s Chairman for the next four years. Other executives elected were Dr. David Boadi, Vice Chairman, Vicky Owusu-Ansah, Vice-Chairwoman, Charles Obimpeh, Secretary, Benjamin Nartey, Treasurer.

Samuel Asirifi, Organizer, Umar Bawa, NASARA Coordinator and Philomena Boateng, Branch Women's Organizer.

Join our Newsletter