You are here: HomeNews2017 02 07Article 507788

General News of Tuesday, 7 February 2017

Source: GhanaWeb/JoyNews

PLAYBACK: Akufo Addo swears in 12 more Ministers

President Akufo-Addo has sworn in twelve Ministers following their approval by the house in Parliament Tuesday.

The event held at the Flagstaff House in Accra saw the appointed twelve taking the oath of office, officially making them Ministers of State.

The Vice President, Chief of Staff and several other state officials were present to grace the event.

Parliament earlier today voted to determine the fate of Gender-Minister-designate Otiko Afisah Djabah following the debate about whether or not she should be approved as Gender Minister.

With the house divided, members on the Minority side boycotted the ballot. The remaining 152 on the Majority side voted and Otiko Djabah was approved as the Gender-Minister.

Otiko Djabah admitted her inability to undertake the country's one-year mandatory National Service which is a requirement for any Ghanaian seeking a public appointment. This sparked a lot of controversy in Parliament as well as in the public domain.

She, together with 11 others were sworn in by the President Tuesday evening.

Foreign Affairs Minister-designate, Shirley Ayorkor Botchway will be sworn in later as she is currently in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia for a summit.

President Akufo-Addo told the gathering he would swear her in when he joins her in Ethiopia Saturday.

The Ministers sworn in today include;

Finance Minister, Ken Ofori Atta

Trade and Industry Minister, Alan Kyerematen

Justice Minister, Gloria Akuffo

National Security Minister, Albert Kan Dapaah

Defence Minister, Dominic Nitiwul

Local Government Minister, Hajia Alima Mahama

Interior Minister, Ambrose Dery

Education Minister, Matthew Opoku Prempeh

Health Minister, Kwaku Agyemang-Manu

Agriculture Minister, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto

Senior Minister, Yaw Osafo-Maafo

Energy Minister, Boakye Agyarko

Join our Newsletter