You are here: HomeNews2017 04 25Article 532212

General News of Tuesday, 25 April 2017


PAC is not on a witch hunting exercise; we ascertain the truth - Chairman

Click to read all about coronavirus →

The Public Accounts Committee (PAC) on Tuesday, 25th April, 2017 begun its sitting considering the Auditor-General’s report on foreign exchange receipts and payments of Bank of Ghana for the half year ended 31st December, 2015.

Chair of PAC James Klutse Avedzi who is the Member of Parliament for Ketu North, reminded the Governor of the Central Bank that, the committee in conducting its work, has the powers and privileges of the High Court or Justice of the High Court at trial.

‘’This include the power to; 1. Invite witnesses and examine them on oath, affirmation and or otherwise; 2. Compel witnesses to produce documents that are likely to provide information on its deliberations and 3. To supine a witness to appear before it,’’ he added.

The Deputy Minority Leader said the Auditor-General in exercising its mandate under the 1992 constitution, conducted an audit into the forex exchange receipts and payment of Bank of Ghana for the half year ended 30th June and 31st December, 2015.

This report was laid before Parliament and referred to the PAC for examine and report…The committee seeks to examine these two reports of the Auditor General.’’

The committee he stressed is not embarking on a witch hunting. It is not a witch hunting exercise; our mission is to ascertain the truth in the issues raised by the Auditor General in its report.

Peddling of falsehood or deliberate misinformation could have legal consequences, he warned.

Other members of PAC in the seventh parliament are MP for Lambussie/Karni, Edward Kaale-Ewola Dery, who is the vice chairman; MP for Keta, Richard Quashigah; MP for Karaga, Alhassan Dandawa; MP for Ningo-Prampram, Samuel Nartey George; MP for Builsa South, Dr Clement Apaak; MP for Aowin, Mathias Ntow; MP for Kumbungu, Ras Mubarak; MP for Komenda/Edina/Eguafo/Abrem, Samuel Atta-Mills and MP for Ejura/Sekyedumase, Mohammed Bawah Braimah for the minority.

The rest are MP for Bibiani/Anhwiaso/Bekwai,Kingsley Aboagye-Gyedu, who is the ranking member; MP for Afigya Kwabre North, Nana Amaniampong Marfo, who is the deputy ranking member; MP for Atwima Nwabiagya North, Benito Owusu-Bio; MP for Bunkpurugu, Solomon Namliit Boar; MP for Fanteakwa South, Kofi Okyere-Agyekum; MP for Mpohor, Alex Kofi Agyekum.

Others are MP for Dormaa East, William Sabi; MP for New Juaben North, Kwasi Boateng Adjei; MP for Nanton, Mohammed Hardi Tufeiru; MP for Kade, Kwabena Ohemeng-Tinyase; MP for Lower West Akim, Eyiah Kyei Baffour; MP for Nhyiaeso, Kennedy Kwasi Kankam; MP for Afigya Sekyere East, Mavis Boadu-Nkansah; MP for Gomoa West, Alex Kwodwo Kom Abban and MP for Effutu, Alex Afenyo-Markin.

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter