You are here: HomeNews2014 04 10Article 305803

Politics of Thursday, 10 April 2014

Source: GNA

Over 5000 delegates expected for NPP congress

A total number of 5, 265 delegates of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) are expected to vote during the upcoming National Delegates’ Conference in Tamale on April 12, to elect the party’s national executives.

A statement issued by Mr. Curtis Perry Okudzeto, acting Communications Director of NPP and copied to the Ghana News Agency on Wednesday, said eligible voters include 76 Founding Members; 15 Council of Elders, 123 Members of Parliament, 34 National Council Members, 29 National Executive Committee, 192 Overseas Branch Officers, and 236 TESCON (Tertiary Students Confederacy) Members.

Delegates’ statistics indicate that the Brong Ahafo Region would be represented by 480 delegates, Central Region 384, Volta Region 432, Western Region 432, Ashanti Region 768, Eastern Region 544, Greater Accra Region 560, Northern Region 512, Upper East Region 256, and Upper West Region 192.

According to NPP ground rules for the delegate’s conference, the party has outlawed camping of delegates and inducement in the form of bribery.

A three-page Ground Rules document obtained by GNA indicates that: “only accredited delegates and officials would be allowed entry into the stadium, whilst all campaign activities are expected to end at 17:00 hours on Friday, April 11.

It said no vehicles would be allowed entry into the stadium except those with Congress-approved stickers. No alcoholic drinks will also be allowed at the venue of the event and its environs.

For the position of National Women’s Organiser, all women Members of Parliament, the incumbent National Women’s Organiser, all regional Women’s Organisers, all constituency organizers and all Women Commissioners of accredited TESCON institutions of the NPP are eligible to vote.

Whilst in the case of the National Youth Organiser, all Members of Parliament under the age of 40 years, all Youth Organisers at the constituency level, all regional Youth Organisers and a representative of each accredited TESCON institution are eligible to vote.

According to the NPP, the National Nasara Coordinator election would consist of all constituency Nasara Coordinators, all regional Nasara Coordinators and the incumbent national Nasara Coordinator.

It said the delegates would be required to cast votes for three Vice Chairperson hopefuls on the ballot paper. The contestant with the highest valid votes will be ranked First, Second and Third Vice Chairpersons respectively.

The Ground Rules directs that “any voter who thumbprints or selects more than three candidates for the Vice Chairperson position would render their ballot paper invalid and therefore rejected.”

According to the Elections Committee, a total of eight polling booths would be erected at the venue namely: Ashanti, Greater Accra, Northern, Eastern, Western, Upper West, Brong-Ahafo/Central and Upper East/Volta to ensure a smooth voting process.

Each of the designated Polling Stations are expected to have a delegates’ list of their particular region comprising the Regional Executive Committee, Constituency Executive Committee, Members of Parliament (MPs), representatives of the National Council, regional representatives of TESCON and founding members of the party.

Aside that, all external delegates, together with the 15 members of the National Council of Elders, the Patrons of the National Council, members of the National Executive Committee (NEC) and proxy voters, are expected to cast their ballot at the Upper West polling centre.

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter