You are here: HomeNews2008 02 29Article 140048

Regional News of Friday, 29 February 2008

Source: GNA

Nsoatre community boycotts inauguration of new Sunyani West Assembly

Odumase (B/A), Feb. 29, GNA - The creation of additional district assemblies was to ensure effective decentralization, good governance and participatory democracy, and not to sow seeds of division among traditional authorities, Albert Kan-Dapaah, Minister of Defence has said.

Inaugurating the new Sunyani West Assembly, Mr Kan-Dapaah said the rationale behind its creation was to ensure development for the people and implored the chiefs to demonstrate unity of purpose and help initiate development programmes. The new Sunyani West district, with Odumase as its capital, was carved out of the Sunyani Municipal Assembly. The inaugural ceremony was attended by chiefs, Assembly Members and other representatives from Odumase.

Conspicuously missing were all seven Assembly members, as well as chiefs and other representatives from the Nsoatre community, which had been protesting against the selection of Odumase as the capital. The Regional Security Council deployed a contingent of military and police personnel to ensure peace and order at the event, which was preceded by a parade on the streets of Odumase by hundreds of flag-waving school children.

Mr Kan-Dapaah called for a free flow of information and an effective communication system for the promotion of transparency and accountability in the district. He urged the Assembly to be innovative in revenue mobilization. He also appealed to political party activists to conduct electioneering campaigns devoid of insults and unsavoury language that would create unnecessary tensions ahead of presidential and parliamentary election in December.

Nana Kwame Korang VI, Omanhene of Awuah-Dumase, expressed the hope that the creation of the new district would promote accelerated development and appealed to chiefs in the district to unite towards a common goal.

He commended President J.A. Kufuor for creating the district and pledged the traditional council's support to help develop it. Justice J.H.K. Debrah, a circuit court Judge, swore 36 out of the 43 Assembly Members into office.

Join our Newsletter