You are here: HomeNews2018 09 02Article 681682

Politics of Sunday, 2 September 2018


Nana Toku makes a comeback as Western Regional NDC chairman

Nana Toku, first on the left has regained power to serve as the Western Regional Chairman Nana Toku, first on the left has regained power to serve as the Western Regional Chairman

Nana Toku, a former Western Regional Chairman of the National Democratic Congress has been elected as the new Regional Chairman after he polled 469 votes to beat the incumbent Michael Aidoo .

The incumbent garnered 346 votes in an election supervised by the Regional Electoral Commission at Sefwi Wiaso-Datano in the Western Region.

Nana Toku, the newly elected Regional Chairman for the NDC was defeated in 2010 by Michael Aidoo in a Regional delegates congress prior to the 2012 elections.

During his tenure from 2008 to 2012, Nana Toku through his leadership amassed 18 parliamentary seats for the NDC in the Western Region.

Mr Kobina Jerry Kankam Darkwa polled 258 votes to beat three other contestants for the vice chairman position, Captain Rtd Anthony Cudjoe polled 189 votes, Mr Michael Gbedema bagged 185 votes while Mr Musah Adamu polled 173 votes.

The Regional Secretary position was maintained by Mr Joseph Nelson with 406 votes to beat Mr Famous Tumi Acquah who had 360 votes.

For the Deputy Regional Secretary position, Mr Charles Kojo Adu Fordjour had 498 votes to beat Mr George Ofori Dankwa with 318 votes .

The incumbent Regional Organizer, Japheth Baidoo maintained his position with 423 votes as against Mr Younous Mohammed 394, with the Deputy Organiser position going to Mr Thomas Asienae who polled 407. The rest in the contest were, Pious Kwame Nkuah 261 and Clamper stone Reuben 150.

Mr Kirk Mensah was voted as the new Communications Director for the party in the Western Region with 497 to pin Sam Jerome who got 321 votes.

The deputy communication Director position went to Ebenezer Essien who had 480 to beat Kankam Owusu Yeboah who polled 338 votes.

For the Treasurer position Mr Henry Rockefeller gathered 524 votes to outscore Mr Kwasi Dick who had 294.

Hafizu Alasco topped with 494 votes to emerge as the Zongo Caucus coordinator whilst his contender Ali Sanusi Uttar had 322.

In the Women Organizer race, Ms Gladys Egyin had 36 votes to beat other contestants, Beatrice Sam 22, Anita Annan 4 votes and Ms Josphine Yankson had 0.

For Deputy Women Organizer: Madam Mariam Raji polled 25 votes to lead against Elizabeth Nsaba 18, Janet Ansah 14, Beatrice Ofori 4 and Georgina Zileru, Antwi 2.

Mr George Dadzie Junior had 28 votes to get the Youth Organizer slot with other candidates, Eric Kweku Kyere 23 and Robert Kofi Agyekum 17 .

Mr Havatious Ati Peter Cobbina polled 22 votes to top in the Deputy youth Organizer position beating Mustapha Iddrisu who had 21 votes, Prince Nkuah 16 votes, Louise Dartah 13 votes, Jeremiah Kwame Ansah 11, Abri Morkoh 9 and Paul Kelvin Eshun 6.

In all 45 candidates with 840 delegates made the regional elections possible.

The Chairman elect, Nana Toku in his victory speech promised to work hard to regain all lost seats in election 2020 and called on all and sundry to support the NDC to come back into power.

He was grateful to the delegates for reposing confidence in him again.

Join our Newsletter