You are here: HomeNews2015 05 08Article 357347

Politics of Friday, 8 May 2015

Source: GNA

NPP vets candidates in UWR

Vetting of parliamentary candidates of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) began in Wa, the Upper West Regional Capital on Monday.

The 27 candidates who filed for the various parliamentary seats in the 10 out of the 11 constituencies in the region, has Mr. Ambrose P. Dery, a professional lawyer, standing unopposed in the Nandom Constituency.

Filing of nominations in the Nadowli/Kaleo Constituency has been postponed for special reasons.

Candidates from five constituencies were vetted on Monday and the rest on Tuesday.

Notable among the candidates are Mr. Anthony Karbo, a Policy Analyst, and Joseph Dontah Bilson, a Chartered Accountant contesting in the Lawra Constituency.

Mr. Bright Yelviel – Dong Baligi, a Lecturer at the University for Development Studies (UDS), Stephen Delle, an Auditor with UDS and Mr. Baloro John Dough, Businessman, and a former member of parliament, are vying for Lambusie.

The Jirapa Constituency has Mr. Kpieta Sung Jesse, an Administrative Assistant at UDS and Mr. Justin Dakurah, an Educationist, gunning for the seat.

In the Daffiama-Bussie-Issa Constituency, Mr. Bagonluri Lwanga Saanyeh, a Lawyer and a Lecturer at UDS, Mr. Ekow Dassah, a Lawyer and Kele Abdul-Mujeeb, an Agriculturist would lock horns at the vetting.

Mr. Amidu Chinia, an Educationist and Mr. Ridwan Daud filed for the Sissala East Constituency.

In the Sissala West Constituency, Mr. Patrick Adama, a Businessman, and two times parliamentary candidate, Dr. George Hikah Bension, a former Upper West Regional Minister and a parliamentary candidate and Mr. Alhassan Kanton, a Business are contesting for the lawmaker post.

The Wa Central Constituency has six contestants: Mr. Issahaku Moomen Tahiru, an Accountant, Mr. Hadi Bawa, a Marketer, Madam Janat Bibii Samsudeen, a Businesswoman, Mr. Mahama Ishaq, a Businessman, Mr. Osuman Abdul-Hamid, an Educationist and Mr. Abdallah Bin Salih, an Educationist are competing for the seat.

Three contestants: Mr. Yakubu Salifu, a Structural Engineer, Mr. Bayon Godfrey Tangu, an Educationist and Mr. Hudeen Ahmed, a Senior Administrator are competing for the Wa East Constituency.

Mr. Daniel Dari Kuusongno, a Lecturer at the Takoradi Polytechnic and Mr. Adams Nuhu Timbile are challenging each other for the Wa West Constituency.

All aspirants are looking forward to represent their constituencies to wrestle power from the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Upper West Region, where the NPP has no parliamentary representative.