You are here: HomeNews2019 02 19Article 724427

Politics of Tuesday, 19 February 2019

Source: Class FM

NPP extends the mandate of regional executives to cover new regions

The governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) has extended the mandate of its current regional executives in the regions that have been affected by the recent regional reorganization, comprising the Northern, Brong Ahafo, Western and Volta Regions.

A statement signed by the General Secretary of the party, John Boadu said:

“The current regional executives of these regions shall, accordingly, exercise jurisdiction in the newly created regions, consisting of North East, Savanna, Bono East, Ahafo, Western North and Oti regions, as applicable.”

The party said it will soon come out with guidelines and modalities on how substantive executives will be selected or elected to occupy the “vacant” regional executive committee positions.

The creation of the six new regions was a campaign promise of the NPP during the 2016 elections.

After the NPP won the polls, a Commission of Inquiry, headed by a retired Justice of the Supreme Court, Justice Stephen Brobbey, was instituted to ensure the creation of the regions.

Accordingly, Oti, Bono East, Western North, Ahafo, Savannah, North East regions were created.

Join our Newsletter