You are here: HomeNews2019 09 28Article 784489

Regional News of Saturday, 28 September 2019


NPP Race: Ellembelle DCE floors Western Regional Treasurer with 97 votes

Kwasi Bonzoh won by 359 polls Kwasi Bonzoh won by 359 polls

The Ellembelle NPP Parliamentary candidate for 2012 and 2016, Kwasi Bonzoh will represent the NPP in the 2020 parliamentary elections after winning in Saturday’s polls.

Mr. Bonzoh beat two other contenders, Anna Akaisi Horma Miezah and Isaac Menlah by 359 polls to win the slot in the Ellembelle Parliamentary Primaries.

Anna Miezah followed closely with 262 votes leaving Isaac Menlah with 9 votes. There were 2 rejected votes in all.

A total of 632 delegates voted at the Nkroful Agriculture Senior High School auditorium where the polls were held.

Below are some of the videos:

Ashaiman constituency

Alhaji Labaram Yakubu….. 449

Eric Kwasi Kwatia………….378

Alexander Narh-Gbeko… 203

Ellembelle Constituency

KWESI Bonzoh : 359

Horma Akesi Meninzah: 262

Issac Manlah: 9

Aowin constituency

Edward Osei 314
Robert coffie 102
Abanga Yakubu 304
valid vote 725

Cape Coast South

Ernest Arthur 271

Perry Mensah 133

Ekow Dsane Selby 110

Bia East

Delegates 343
Evans Amoah 99
Nicholas Niber 212
Rejected 0
Total valid vote cast 311

Affram Plains North

Hon. Asiamah = 174

Hon. Nana Koree = 358

Affram Plains South

Hon. Zineyele Jacob = 202

Hon. William Hor = 307


Martha Kwayie Manu= 300
Danso Simon Asamoah = 9
Francis Afranyo Kwaku =199
Alex Ampaabeng =71
Solomon Donkor=1

More results soon…

The primaries are being held in 104 constituencies amidst legal hurdles in some constituencies.

Termed “orphan constituencies”, these are areas where the party lost the 2016 Parliamentary Elections to the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) and therefore has no sitting Members of Parliament on the party’s side in Parliament. The NPP has I69 seats out of the total 275 seats in Parliament.

Court cases

Elections are not being held in eight constituencies where the primaries have been put on hold until further notice owing to some compelling reasons:

Chereponi constituency (North-East Region)

Krachi West Constituency
(Oti Region)

Afajato South Constituency
(Volta Region)

Kpando Constituency
(Volta Region)

Anlo Constituency
(Volta Region)

Hohoe Constituency
(Volta Region)

Amasaman (Greater Accra)

Asawase (Ashanti region)