You are here: HomeNews2019 09 28Article 784479

General News of Saturday, 28 September 2019


NPP Polls: Amin Adam wins in Karaga

The NPP held primaries for its orphan constituencies The NPP held primaries for its orphan constituencies

A deputy Energy Minister, Dr. Mohammed Amin Adam, has won the Karaga parliamentary primaries for the New Patriotic Party.

He polled 385 votes as against his main contender Baba Sayuti, who managed just 78 votes. The others Alhassan Abdulai and Sulemana Ibn Saeed polled four and two votes respectively.

Here are some results so far from the other constituencies:

Ashaiman constituency

Alhaji Labaram Yakubu….. 449

Eric Kwasi Kwatia………….378

Alexander Narh-Gbeko… 203

Ellembelle Constituency

KWESI Bonzoh : 359

Horma Akesi Meninzah: 262

Issac Manlah: 9

Aowin constituency

Edward Osei 314
Robert coffie 102
Abanga Yakubu 304
valid vote 725

Cape Coast South

Ernest Arthur 271

Perry Mensah 133

Ekow Dsane Selby 110

Bia East

Delegates 343
Evans Amoah 99
Nicholas Niber 212
Rejected 0
Total valid vote cast 311

Affram Plains North

Hon. Asiamah = 174

Hon. Nana Koree = 358

Affram Plains South

Hon. Zineyele Jacob = 202

Hon. William Hor = 307


Martha Kwayie Manu= 300
Danso Simon Asamoah = 9
Francis Afranyo Kwaku =199
Alex Ampaabeng =71
Solomon Donkor=1

More results soon…

The primaries are being held in 104 constituencies amidst legal hurdles in some constituencies.

Termed “orphan constituencies”, these are areas where the party lost the 2016 Parliamentary Elections to the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) and therefore has no sitting Members of Parliament on the party’s side in Parliament. The NPP has I69 seats out of the total 275 seats in Parliament.

Court cases

Elections are not being held in eight constituencies where the primaries have been put on hold until further notice owing to some compelling reasons:

Chereponi constituency (North-East Region)

Krachi West Constituency
(Oti Region)

Afajato South Constituency
(Volta Region)

Kpando Constituency
(Volta Region)

Anlo Constituency
(Volta Region)

Hohoe Constituency
(Volta Region)

Amasaman (Greater Accra)

Asawase (Ashanti region)