You are here: HomeNews2020 06 20Article 985573

Regional News of Saturday, 20 June 2020


NPP Decides: Western Regional Minister retained as Takoradi parliamentary candidate

Ecstatic supporters after Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah won the polls Ecstatic supporters after Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah won the polls

Correspondence from Western Region

Delegates of the governing NPP in the Takoradi Constituency of the Western Region have maintained the Regional Minister, Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah as their 2020 parliamentary candidate.

The party conducted its parliamentary primaries on Saturday, June 20, 2020, in almost all the sitting Constituencies across the country.

In Western Region, the party held parliamentary primaries in seven constituencies out of the seventeen Constituencies.

The 7 Constituencies are; Ahanta West (Hon. Ebenezer Kojo Kum, the incumbent and Mr. Kwesi Biney), Amenfi East (Hon. Patrick Bogyako-Saime, the incumbent and Mr. Edward Amo-Acquah), Effia (Hon. Joseph Cudjoe, the incumbent MP and Mrs. Adwoa Kwegiriba), Kwesimintsim (Hon. Joseph Mensah, the incumbent MP and Mr. Prince Hamidu Armah), Mpohor (Hon. Alex K. Agyekum, the incumbent and John Aboah Sanie), Shama (Hon. Ato Panford, the incumbent and Mr. Samuel Erickson Abakah) and Takoradi (Hon. Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah, the incumbent MP and Mrs. Janet Mensah).

However, aspirants in Tarkwa-Nsuaem, Sekondi, Prestea Huni-Valley, Jomoro, Evalue-Ajomoro Gwira and Essikado-Ketan Constituencies namely; Hon. George Mireku-Duker, Hon. Andrew Kofi Egyapa Mercer, Hon. Barbara Oteng-Gyasi, Hon. Paul Essien, Hon. Catherine Afeku, Hon. Joe Ghartey respectively contested unopposed and were endorsed through popular acclamation on Saturday.

In the case of Takoradi, the primaries were held at 16 polling centres and was under heavy security presence.

Mr. Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah who became MP for the area on January 7, 2009 on the ticket of the NPP, is being challenged by a female Parliamentary Aspirant, Mrs. Edna Nyame in today's parliamentary primaries.

Mr. Darko-Mensah succeeded the late Gladys Asmah.

At the end of the keenly contested polls on Saturday, the Western Regional Minister, Hon. Darko-Mensah polled 341 votes representing 63.5 per cent to floor his main contender who has been contesting the Takoradi NPP Parliamentary seat for three times, Mrs. Janet Edna Nyame who also polled 196 votes representing 36.49 per cent.

In all, 537 delegates making up the electoral college, voted for the two aspirants that battled it out for the parliamentary vacancy in the area.

The election was conducted by officials of Electoral Commission in the area and was supervised by the Western Regional Executives of the party.

Mr. Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah who earlier promised to win the election hands down couldn't address the charging atmosphere.

But his supporters became happy and jubilated over the results.

Kwesimintim and Effia Constituencies

Shockingly, the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for Kwesimintsim Constituency, Hon. Joseph Mensah who promised to retain his seat has lost to the NaCCA Executive Secretary, Mr. Prince Hamidu Armah.

Mr. Prince Armah polled 205 votes while Joseph Mensah managed 135 votes.

In Effia Constituency, the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) who is also the Deputy Minister for Energy, Hon. Joseph Cudjoe beat her main contender, Madam Adwoa Kwegiriba.

Hon. Joseph Cudjoe polled 312 votes and Madam Adwoa Kwegiriba also polled 105 votes.

Join our Newsletter