You are here: HomeNews2018 12 11Article 707998

Politics of Tuesday, 11 December 2018


'NDC race pre-determined, pointless running' - Ricketts-Hagan

NDC Flagbearer Hopeful, Kweku Ricketts-Hagan NDC Flagbearer Hopeful, Kweku Ricketts-Hagan

One of the 12 flag bearer-aspirants of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Mr Kweku Ricketts-Hagan, has officially dropped out of the race.

Announcing his decision through a press statement on Tuesday, 11 December, the former Deputy Minister of Finance in the Mahama administration, said his rounds and interactions with the delegates of the biggest opposition party clearly showed that they were in support of one particular aspirants – whose name he would not mention – thus, found it unnecessary to have even picked nomination forms in the first place.

So far, eight aspirants have officially picked forms to run for the presidential primary scheduled for 26 January 2019.

They include former President John Mahama, Mr Goosie Tanoh, Mr Nurudeen Iddrisu, Mr Stephen Atubiga, Mr Alban Bagbin, Mr Ekow Spio-Garbrah, Mr Sylvester Mensah and Prof Joshua Alabi.

According to Mr Ricketts-Hagan, although he would have given Ghana an exceptional leadership if he had been elected as flag bearer and president subsequently, the delegates of the party, from his rounds, have given him the indication that it is not his time yet.

Join our Newsletter