You are here: HomeNews2019 01 23Article 717581

General News of Wednesday, 23 January 2019


NDC polls: Bagbin first, Mahama third on ballot

All aspirants were vetted at the party's headquarters Tuesday January 22 All aspirants were vetted at the party's headquarters Tuesday January 22

The opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) has completed the balloting process for its flagbearer aspirants with Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Mr Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin, picking the first spot.

The process was conducted by the NDC Elections Committee for the 2020 presidential primaries on Wednesday, 23 January 2018.

Mr Nurudeen Iddrisu, a businessman, picked the second spot as former President John Dramani Mahama picked the third position.

The positions of all the various aspirants on the ballot paper are as follows:

1* Alban S.K Bagbin

2* Nurideen Iddrisu

3* John Dramani Mahama

4* Sylvester Mensah

5* Ekwow Spio-Garbrah

6* Goosie Tanoh

7* Prof. Joshua Alabi

Meanwhile, Acting Director of Elections, Bede Ziedeng has indicated that the elections will be conducted free of any incidences and will be fair and transparent.

The NDC has fixed 23 February 2019 for its presidential primary.

The NDC postponed the party’s flag bearer election which was originally slated for Saturday, 26 January 2019, due to a court case brought against it by two of its members.

Two members of the party, Mr Abdallah Issah and Mr James Kabu Nartey-Oman sued the party in December last year over the guidelines governing the presidential primary.

However, the plaintiffs and defendants agreed on an out-of-court settlement when they appeared before an Accra High Court on Monday, 14 January 2019.