You are here: HomeNews2019 10 17Article 789976

General News of Thursday, 17 October 2019


NDC holds parliamentary primaries in 25 constituencies Saturday

Click to read all about coronavirus →

The National Democratic Congress will this Saturday hold parliamentary primaries in 25 more constituencies in four regions in a second batch of elections to elect candidates for next year’s general election.

The decision to hold the primaries in these constituencies was taken on Tuesday by the party’s Functional Executive Committee.

The main and first batch of parliamentary primaries of the party was held on Saturday, August 24, which had 524 persons contesting for 157 seats across the country.

Which constituencies vote on Oct. 19?

In the Eastern Region, primaries will be conducted in seven constituencies; Achiase, Asene Manso Akroso, Ofoase Ayirebi, Akwatia, Akuapem South, Okere and New Juabeng South

Ashanti Region will conduct polls in 14 constituencies; Fomena, Odotobri, Manhyia South, Nhyiaeso, Asokwa, Manhyia North, Tafo, Atwima Mponua, Atwima Kwanwoma, Afigya Kwabre South, Mampong, Manso Nkwanta, Suame and Kwadaso.

In the Central Region, Efutu, Upper Denkyira West and Awutu-Senya East will hold primaries while in the Western Region, only Esikado Ketan will hold primary.

A statement issued by the party’s Director of Communications Kakra Essamuah asked all delegates to comport themselves and abide by the rules as set by the party and the Electoral Commission to ensure peaceful atmosphere for the process.

“To all contesting candidates, the party wishes to remind them that in all their campaignst, they should remember that the party is supreme and that only a united front can win us the general elections”

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter