You are here: HomeNews2015 04 01Article 352672

Politics of Wednesday, 1 April 2015

Source: GNA

NDC Zongo caucus asked to work hard

Alhaji Ibrahim Jabiru, Agona East Chairman of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), urged executives of the Zongo Caucus of the party, to work hard to win more votes for the party, in order to retain power in the 2016 general elections.

He made the call at the inauguration of the Agona East Zongo Co-ordinators Caucus at Agona Nsaba.

Alhaji Jabiru hoped that the election of the officers would give them zeal and energy to go the extra mile, to ensure that NDC in Agona East became the most attractive entity for people to join.

Alhaji Jabiru assured them that every logistics support would be provided, to enhance their work, adding that the party needed to increase its votes in the constituency.

He pledged that motor bikes would be given to their executives to help them work effectively as a wing of the party.

The chairman appealed to the executives to rally behind President John Dramani Mahama, and Mrs Queenster Pokuaa Sawyer, MP for Agona East, and Deputy Central Regional Minister, to ensure a resounding victory for the party in 2016.

Mr Francis Duodu Addo, Agona East District Chief Executive (DCE) who inaugurated the group, said, currently the Zongo Caucusses are not among elected executives of the party, and assured them that in 2017, the party would include them in its Constituency, Regional and National Delegate Congresses.

He said the National Executives had decided to allow them to go through democratic processes.

The DCE pointed out that the Zongo communities were the backbone of the NDC in every election, and expressed the hope that their executives would live up to expectation.

He assured the Zongo Caucus executives of the cooperation of the Constituency executives of the party, to enable them perform their legitimate functions.

The elected executives are Alhaji Ganiyu Mohammed Chairman, Mr Shaibu Yusif, Vice Chairman, Mr Yusif Zacharia, Secretary, Assistant Secretary Basharu Alhasan, Abdul-Hamid Imam Ahmed organizer,

Others are Mr Murtale Mohammed, Deputy Organizer, Mr Ishmael Yusif, Youth Organizer, Mr Ishmael Shaibu, Deputy Youth Organizer, Magalia, Ladi Jibreel, and Shawki Salisu, Treasurer.