You are here: HomeNews2019 08 26Article 775293

Politics of Monday, 26 August 2019


NDC Primaries: Adongo, Rashid Pelpuo, John Jinapor retain slot up-north

Member of Parliament for Bolgatanga Central, Isaac Adongo Member of Parliament for Bolgatanga Central, Isaac Adongo

Outspoken NDC MP, Isaac Adongo has retained the slot to lead NDC into 2020 polls in the Bolga Central constituency.

At the end of polls on Saturday, Adongo secured a win after he recorded a total of 843 votes as against 229 garnered by his contender, George Gamson.

Veteran politician, Mr Rashid Pelpuo also managed to enter the list of winners for the 2019 parliamentary primaries after he polled a total of 693, and led the pack of 3 others put up in that race at the Wa Central.

But it was hard luck for Joseph Yieleh Chireh as he’s been ousted from the seat in next elections.

He lost the bid to be retained as the NDC’s parliamentary candidate for Wa West after losing the grounds to Superintendent (Rtd) Peter Lanchene Tuubo, former Executive Secretary to the immediate past IGP, Asante-Appeatu.

The cop polled 755 votes to beat veteran and incumbent MP Joseph Yieleh Chireh who garnered 308 votes in Saturday’s election.

#Provisional Winners for Savannah Region

Salaga South - Hajia Zuweira Braimah

Salaga North - Hon. Alhassan Mumuni

Yapei Kusawgu - Hon. John A. Jinapor

Daboya Mankarigu – Hon Mahama Shaibu

Damongo - Hon. Adams Mutawakilu

Sawla Tuna Kalba – Hon Andrews Chiwitey

Bole - Hon Yusif Sulemana

Join our Newsletter