You are here: HomeNews2018 06 26Article 663567

Politics of Tuesday, 26 June 2018

Source: Daniel Kaku

NDC Polls: I will work with losers to retain seat - Chairman elect

Alex Mahama was accused of buying votes from delegates Alex Mahama was accused of buying votes from delegates

The newly elected constituency Chairman of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Ellembelle of the Western Region, Alex Kwame Mahama popularly known as Accounty has pledged his commitment to work tirelessly with old executives who lost their positions in the just ended constituency elections.

At the keenly contested election held at Nkroful Agriculture Senior High School Assembly Hall last Saturday, Alex Mahama emerged victorious in the chairmanship race polling 711 votes to beat his close contenders, the incumbent Vice Chairman, Godwin Beikwaw Ndo Amihere who had 220 votes and Mr. Kwaw Kanrah who also had 55 votes.

The party held its constituency executive elections on Saturday 23 June 2018 in almost all the constituencies across the country.

In all, 990 delegates voted for 37 candidates that contested 15 vacant positions in the Constituency which was supervised by Mr. Stephen Aidoo, the District Director of Electoral Commission (EC) in the Ellembelle.

The poll witnessed 20 spoiled ballot papers.

Speaking to GhanaWeb's Western Regional Correspondent after the elections, the Chairman elect, Alex Mahama expressed joy for the confidence reposed in him and assured that he would work assiduously to enable the party retain the Ellembelle seat and increase the presidential votes in 2020 elections.

He used the opportunity to thank the security personnel for maintaining law and order during the voting period.

The business mogul pledged his commitment to work together with all other elected executives and the losers to ensure the Ellembelle seat is maintained in 2020.

He advised the losers to remain resolute and not to plan to sit on fence to cause the party’s defeat to the NPP party in 2020.

"I urge all my colleague contenders to remain calm and let us all work together to achieve a common goal because our main aim is to retain the Ellembelle seat in 2020", he pleaded.

Asking whether he would openly campaign for a parliamentary candidate against others within the party in 2019, Alex Mahama said that he is going to remain neutral to make the party attractive.

After the elections, some candidates who were defeated accused the Chairman elect of vote buying by giving each delegate GHC400 to solicit votes from them..

But the Chairman refuted the claims and urged the general public to disregard it, describing it as fabrication with no merit.

"Daniel Kaku, please let me tell you that I didn't give any money to any delegate to influence their decision, they voted for me for my competence not on vote buying, and these things are part of our body politics and normal", he debunked it.

"To my colleague candidates let us come together and work as one family and stop the allegations being levelled against each other, I beg you all", he urged.

He added, "as we speaking the party doesn't have a befitting party office and the one that we have rented needs to be renovated and I'm going to renovate it and brand it with party colours".

He also promised to bring back the disgruntled members who defaulted to the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) to secure victory for party in 2020.

Find below the full names of the newly elected Executives



Stella Asmah - 18

Gifty Kwofie – 89

Paulina Nortey - 11


Angelina Mensah -11

Joana Barikisu Alhassan - 28

Doris Kanrah Meah – 80


Nicholas E. A Mawule – 50

Samuel Amoah - 18

Charlse Kwasi - 23

Alex Karim Ayembila - 26


Jacob Enwunli Nwolley - 10

Amoseh Jerry John - 18

Rasmus Sanye Yankey - 45

Macdonald Kwofie - 45


Aboudoulaye Kablan – 516

Mumuni Tijani - 465


Kwesi Hanson – 637

Clement Obeng Nuamah - 346

Rejected - 7


Boaz Ebambey - 238

Micheal Ayamba – 305

Solomon Asare Andoh (incumbent) - 255

Moro Dauda Chie - 113

Kenneth Blay - 73


Amoako Bob Nvida - 368

Essien Menlah John – 614

Rejected 6


Augustine K Arthur - 370

Sylvester Baffoe - 219

Justice Kofi Ackerson – 394


Christian Kortsu – 399

Hayford Bonuah Goffah - 345

Solomon Forjoe - 239

Rejected - 9


Godwin Beikwaw Ndo Amihere - 220

Alex Kwame Mahama – 711

Kanrah Kwaw - 55

Rejected - 4


Joseph Agyekum (unopposed)


Maxwell Essien (unopposed)


Baba Mohammed (unopposed)