You are here: HomeNews2019 01 10Article 714227

General News of Thursday, 10 January 2019


Minister for Business Development is Best Minister for 2018 – Survey

A survey conducted by Ghanaian research and investigative firm, FAKS Investigative Services has awarded the Minister for Business Development, Dr Ibrahim Mohammed Awal the Best Minister for 2018.

Topping the survey of the 10 best Ministers, Dr Mohammed Awal received a 93.18% mark out of the 4,211 respondents who took part in the assessment.

The findings of the survey, which focused on project initiatives, their execution and impact, was assessed by researchers, media practitioners and academia.

The 7th edition of the FAKS Investigative Services’ assessment of the performances of Ministers, Deputy Ministers, Members of Parliaments and Regional Ministers was conducted between October and December 2018.

A total of 4,519 Ghanaians ranging from students, petty traders, journalists, MPs, civil organizations, traditional rulers, business owners and others partook in the survey.

Deputy Minister for Regional Organization and Development, Martin Adjei- Mensah Korssh scored 88.03% to emerge the Best Deputy Minister for 2018. Michael Okyere Baafi, CEO of Ghana Free Zone Authority was the Best CEO for 2018 while MP for Asawase Constituency, Hon. Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka received a 96.21% approval from 4,348 respondents to emerge the overall Best MP for 2018.

Below is a breakdown of the findings from the survey:


1st - Dr. Ibrahim Mohammed Awal- Business Development Minister Respondents: 4,211 Mark: 93.18%

2nd - Hon. Dan Kwaku Botwe- Regional Reorganization and Development Minister Respondents: 4,001 Mark: 88.53%

3rd - Hon. Joe Ghartey- Railway Development Minister Respondents: 3,911 Mark: 86.54%

4th -Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh- Education Minister Respondents: 3,899 Mark: 86.28%

5th -Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto – Food and Agriculture Minister Respondents: 3,502 Mark: 77.49%

6th - Hon. Isaac Kwame Asiamah- Youth and Sports Minister Respondents: 3,233 Mark: 71.54%

7th – Hon. Ambrose Dery- Interior Minister Respondents: 3,203 Mark: 70.87%

8th – Kwesi Amoako Atta- Roads and Highways Minister Respondents: 3,153 Mark: 69.77%

9th – Hon. Kwaku Agyemang Manu - Health Minister Respondents: 3,102 Mark: 68.64%

10th - Hon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah - Information Minister Respondents: 3,027 Mark: 66.98%


1st - Martin Adjei- Mensah Korssh- Regional Organization and Development Respondents: 3,978 Mark: 88.03%

2nd - Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum - Education Respondents: 3,877 Mark: 85.79%

3rd- Michael Yaw Gyato - Water Resources and Sanitation Respondents: 3,728 Mark: 82. 49%

4th –Hon. Gifty Tina Mensah - Health Respondents: 3,656 Mark: 80.90%

5th - Hon. Henry Quartey- Interior Respondents: 3,523 Mark: 77.95%

6th - Dr. Mohammed Amin Anta- Energy Respondents: 3,417 Mark: 75. 61%

7th- Hon. Kwaku Kwarteng - Finance Respondents: 3,217 Mark: 71. 18%

8th – Hon. Vincent Sowah Odotei- Communications and Anthony N-Yoh Puowele Karbo- Roads and Highways Respondents: 3,077 Mark: 68.09%

9th - Godfred Dame- Attorney General and Pius Enam Hadzide -Youth and Sports Respondents: 3,019 Mark: 66. 81%

10th – Hon. Barbara Oteng Gyasi- Lands and Natural Resources Respondents: 2.957 Mark: 65.43%

BEST 10 CEOs OF SOEs, 2018

1st - Michael Okyere Baafi, CEO of Ghana Free Zone Authority Respondents: 4,351 Mark: 96.28%

2nd - Richard Boadu, Administrator of GETFund Respondents: 4,337 Mark: 85.97%

3rd - Dr. John Ofori-Tenkorang, Director General of SSNIT Respondents: 4,237 Mark: 93.75%

4th - Nana Kwaku Adjei Yeboah, CEO of Students Loan Trust Fund Respondents: 4,097 Mark: 90.66%

5th – Lawyer Justin Kodua Frimpong, CEO of Youth Employment Agency Respondents: 4,001 Mark: 88.54%

6th - Stephen Amoah, Chief Executive Officer of MASLOC Respondents: 3,973 Mark: 87.89%

7th – R. Yofi Grant, CEO of Ghana Investment Promotion Center Respondents: 3,913 Mark: 86.58%

8th -Prof. Kenneth Attafuah, Executive Director of National Identification Authority Respondents: 3,804 Mark: 84.17%

9th- Mr. John Dekyem Attafuah, CEO of Ghana Airport Company Limited Respondents: 3,615 Mark: 79.79%

10th – Nana Akomeah, CEO of State Transport Company (STC) Respondents: 3,297 Mark: 72.95%


1st -Simon Osei-Mensah- Ashanti Respondents: 4,011 Mark: 88.75%

2nd - Dr. Kwaku Afriyie - Western Respondents: 3,721 Mark: 82.34%

3rd - Kwamena Duncan - Central Respondents: 3,651 Mark: 80.79%

4th - Archibald Yao Letsa – Volta Respondents: 3,327 Mark: 73.62%

5th - Hon. Eric Kwakye Darfour – Eastern Respondents: 3,039 Mark: 67.25%



MP Hon. Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka, MP for Asawase Constituency Respondents: 4,348 Mark: 96.21%


MP Hon. Edward Ennin, MP for Obuasi East Constituency Respondents: 3, 912 Mark: 86.56%

BEST MINORITY MP Hon. Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, MP for North Tongu Constituency Respondents: 3,817 Mark: 84.46%


Hon. Bernice Adiku Heloo, MP for Hohoe Constituency Respondents: 3,614 Mark: 79.97%