You are here: HomeNews2009 02 25Article 158283

General News of Wednesday, 25 February 2009

Source: GNA

Mills reiterates cut in executive expenditure

Accra, Feb. 25, GNA- President John Evans Atta Mills on Wednesday swore-in 11 new Ministers of State and repeated that, his administration would reduce executive expenditure and invest the savings into the productive sectors of the economy.

He reminded the new Ministers to exhibit transparency, honesty, probity and accountability, and use the resources of the State to the benefit of the people.

President Mills administered the Oath of Allegiance to the Republic of Ghana, the Oath Minister of State and the Oath of Secrecy to the Ministers and reminded them to work hard and not to abuse the confidence reposed in them for their privileged service. The President presented the Ministers with their Instruments of Office, and as a novelty, copies of the current Ghanaian constitution were made available to them as a reminder of their rights, duties and responsibilities towards the state nation.

The Ministers were: Mr Stephen Amoanor Kwao - Minister of Employment and Social Welfare, Mr. Alexander Asum-Ahensah -Minister of Chieftaincy, Hajia Rafatu Alhassan Dubie-Minister at the Presidency, Dr. George Sipa-Adjah Yankey- Minister of Health, Mrs. Sabah Zita Okaikoi- Minister of Information and Ms. Hanny Sherry Ayittey - Minister of Environment, Science and Technology.

The rest were: Alhaji Muhammad Mumuni- Minister for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, Mr Albert Abongo- Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing, Mr. Kwesi Ahwoi- Minister of Food and Agriculture, Mr Alhassan Azong-Minister of State at the Presidency and Mr Mark Wayongo, Minister for the Upper Eats Region. The latest swearing-in of ministers brings to 34 the number sworn in under the Mills' Government.