You are here: HomeNews2011 07 09Article 213302

General News of Saturday, 9 July 2011

Source: GNA

Mills bashes Konadu - 2,771 votes to 90

Delegates elect President Mills as NDC flagbearer for Election 2012
Sunyani (B/A), July 9, GNA - Delegates at the National Democratic Congress (NDC) congress on Saturday at Sunyani, overwhelmingly elected President John Evans Atta Mills as the Party's Flagbearer for Election 2012.

He polled 2,771 out of 2,861 valid votes cast, representing 96.9 per cent as against 90 votes (3.1 per cent) garnered by his rival contestant, Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings, Former First Lady.

Mr Sarfo Kantanka, Deputy Chairman of the Electoral Commission in-charge of operations, who announced the results, declared that five ballots were rejected after the polls of the Party's presidential primaries. Immediately after the declaration, Nana Konadu and husband walked to President Mills and congratulated him on the victory.

The President in a speech after being declared winner said it was "no victory for any particular person but a process that is going to energize the Party".

He said issues and concerns that were raised by some Party members during the campaign 93cannot be swept under the carpet", stressing the issues and concerns must be addressed to put the party on a stronger pedestal. President Mills called for unity and togetherness within the rank and file of the Party, and advised members to desist from mudslinging, unjustified complaints, accusations and counter-accusations. He said: "After today no name calling, no insults, we are all one and let us strive to work for continued peace and accelerated development of the country."

The President cautioned the Leadership and members of the Party not to take the votes of Ghanaians for granted, implying voters must be respected.