You are here: HomeNews2018 08 10Article 675823

General News of Friday, 10 August 2018

Source: Class FM

Military prevents march in appreciation of Bukari removal

Armed military men dispersed and prevented a planned thank you float by residents of the Upper East Region on Friday, 10 August 2018.

Class FM’s Michael Awuni reported that the group believed to be supporters of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) had scheduled the march to show appreciation to President Nana Akufo-Addo for reshuffling their Regional Minister, Rockson Bukari.

Information revealed that another group from the party had planned to foil the float and cause mayhem leading to the intervention of the security agencies.

Calm has since been restored to the area.

President Akufo-Addo on Thursday, 9 August announced his first reshuffle.

Mr Bukari, former Upper East Regional Minister, is now Minister of State at the Office of the President.

Paulina Tangoba Abayage, former Ambassador to Italy is now the Upper East Regional Minister.

Two new ministerial portfolios – Minister of State at the Office of the Vice President and Minister of State at the Office of the President – were added.

Below is the full list:

1. John Peter Amewu – Energy (Former Minister of Lands and Natural Resources);

2. Kweku Asoma-Cheremeh – Lands and Natural Resources (Former Brong Ahafo Regional Minister);

3. Kofi Adda – Aviation (Former Minister of Sanitation and Water Resources);

4. Cecilia Abena Dapaah – Sanitation and Water Resources (Former Aviation Minister);

5. Dr Mustapha Abdul-Hamid – Minister of Inner City and Zongo Development (Former Information Minister);

6. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah – Information (Former Deputy Minister of Information);

7. Cynthia Morrison – Gender, Child and Social Protection;

8. Paulina Tangoba Abayage – Upper East Regional Minister (Former Ambassador to Italy);

9. Evans Opoku Bobie, Member of Parliament for Asunafo North Constituency and former deputy Brong Ahafo Regional Minister, is now Brong Ahafo Regional Minister-designate;

10. Martin Oti Gyarko, Member of Parliament for Techiman North Constituency, is now Deputy Brong Ahafo Regional Minister-designate;

11. Boniface Abubakar Saddique, Member of Parliament for Madina Constituency and former Minister for Inner City and Zongo Development, is now Minister of State at the Office of the Vice-President;

12. Rockson Bukari, former Upper East Regional Minister, is now Minister of State at the Office of the President;

13. Pius Enam Hadzide, former deputy Minister of Youth and Sports, is now Deputy Minister of Information;

14. Perry Curtis Okudzeto, former deputy Minister of Information, is now Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports; and

15. Otiko Afisa Djaba, former Minister of Gender, Child and Social Protection, is now Ambassador-designate to Italy.