You are here: HomeNews2015 10 20Article 388711

Politics of Tuesday, 20 October 2015

Source: Today Newspaper

Mike Eghan leads PPP in G/A

PPP logo PPP logo

Greater Accra regional branch of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) over the weekend elected Mr. Mike Eghan Jr., as its Regional Chairman.

Mr. Eghan Jr., who was the sole candidate for the position, received overwhelming endorsement from party delegates who converged at the Social Welfare Centre at Madina in the La-Nkwantanang-Madina Municipal Assembly on Saturday, October 17, 2015.

A total of 19 persons contested the 12 elective positions at the regional level primaries.

That brought about a keen contest for the positions of Organiser, Vice Chairman, Secretary and Women’s Organiser.

At the end of the polls, Mr. Solomon Osei Fosu emerged victorious to claim the Vice Chairmanship position.

He beat Bernard Twum Acheampong with 404 votes as against the former’s129 votes.

Madam Linda Sey polled 363 votes to defeat two other contenders in the race for Regional Secretary.

Her closest competitor, Mantey Emmanuel Felix, could only manage 117 ballots with Robert Ekow Arko placing a distant third with 53 votes.

The Assistant Secretary, Abubakar Abdul Ramzy, Treasurer, David Nkrumah, and Assistant Treasurer, John Teye were elected unopposed.

Other elected officers were Casmire Nii Okine Mensah for Organiser, Marshal Dogbatey for Assistant Organiser.

Koi Larbi Koiwah was elected Women’s Organizer, with Emmanuella Antwi clinching the Asssiatnt Women’s Organizer slot.

The delegates also made Relliwanu Tanko as Youth Organiser and Elvis Adu as Assistant Youth Organiser.

Seth Osmond Nii Kwetia became the Education Secretary. The elections were supervised by the Electoral Commission (EC) of Ghana.

The event was graced by the presence of National Chairman, Nii-Allotey Brew-Hammond, the 2012 Vice Presidential Candidate, and current Executive Director of the party, Ms. Eva Lokko.

Other personalities present included Divine Nkrumah, William Dowokpor, Kofi Asamoah-Siaw, Murtala Mohammed, Hajia Issah Addisia, Mike Eghan Senior, Ladi Nylander, Berlinda Bulley among others.

Dr. Nduom, who was in the United States America (USA) at the time, also spoke to the delegates through a telephone call and called on all PPP members to be united towards a common goal in 2016.

The PPP will hold its national delegates convention on October 31st, 2015 at Takoradi in the Western region.

Join our Newsletter