You are here: HomeNews2017 02 20Article 511706

Politics of Monday, 20 February 2017

Source: evans kwabena, odumase-krobo.

Lower Manya NDC suspends Teye Nyaunu, 3 others

Micheal Teye Nyaunu, Member of Parliament for Lower Manya Micheal Teye Nyaunu, Member of Parliament for Lower Manya

The Lower Manya opposition National Democratic Congress' disciplinary committee has suspended Honourable Micheal Teye Nyaunu, the former Member of Parliament of the area, and his allies from the party.

According to the committee's chairman, Mr. Christian Azu, the party took the decision to suspend them but not yet communicated it, notify and informing them about the development as at the time of filing this story.

According to the Mr. Azu-led disciplinary committee, they took steps to write to the branch that henceforth the party members should not attend any meeting organised by Teye Nyaunu and co.

The other suspended members are: the former MCE of the area, Honourable Isaac Tetteh Agbo, Korletey Samuel, the constituency organiser and Alex Konotey, the Vice-chair for the constituency.

They are believed to be instigating the branches against the constituency executives on alleged polling agent money squandered by some constituency executives during 2016 election, according to a section of party members.

However, the party is yet to confirm that position; they also failed to disclose the reasons for the suspension.

All attempts to contact Hon. Teye Nyaunu and others proved futile as at press time.