You are here: HomeNews2019 08 24Article 775094

Politics of Saturday, 24 August 2019


LIVESTREAMING: NDC Parliamentary Primaries results

Provisional results for the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Primaries are being announced at various centres across the country.

While some incumbent Members of Parliament are retaining their tickets, others have been whipped by their competitors.

In the Ningo Prampram, for instance, legislator, Sam George has won the parliamentary ticket to contest the seat again for the NDC in the 2020 elections. Sam George polled 407 votes while his contender, Michael Kwettey, the party’s constituency chairman, polled 400 votes.

Member of Parliament for the Kumbungu Constituency, Ras Mubarak has been snubbed by party members as they refused to give him the nod to contest on the ticket of the party next year. Mubarak had 273 votes while his main opponent, a senior lecturer and the Head of the Faculty of Agribusiness and Communication Sciences at the University for Development Studies (UDS), Dr. Hamza Ada had 401 votes.

Former National Organizer, Kofi Adams has won the Buem constituency bid. He polled 388 votes while the incumbent MP for the area, Daniel Kosi Ashaiman had 280 votes.

Perhaps the biggest victory by far as actor John Dumelo has swept 758 votes in a contest against Madam Adoboe who managed with paltry 99 votes in the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency primaries.

Join the livestream below as results keep trickling in

Join our Newsletter