You are here: HomeNews2018 07 03Article 665478

General News of Tuesday, 3 July 2018


Justice William Atuguba retires after 44 years as a judge

Supreme Court Judge, Justice William Atuguba, has retired after 44 years with the Judiciary.

His retirement took effect from Sunday July 1, 2018

Indications are that a send-off party has already been held in his honour to ensure he retires peacefully having served as one of the longest-serving justices of the Apex court of the land learnt

Justice William Atuguba was appointed as Supreme Court judge on November 30, 1995 by former President JJ Rawlings.

He was first enrolled as a magistrate on 3 October 1974. He has worked as a private legal practitioner and served as a prosecutor and state attorney before being appointed a Supreme Court Judge. He has on countless occasions acted as the chief justice any time Justice Georgina Theodora Woode was outside the country on official duties.

Justice William Atuguba became a household name when he led the nine-member panel of judges that adjudicated the famous 2012 Election Petition as its president.

They ruled in favour of the NDC giving impetus to the Electoral Commission’s declaration of John Dramani Mahama as the winner of the general polls.

Meanwhile, president Akufo-Addo has appointed four persons as justices of the apex court.

They are: Justice Samuel K. Marful-Sau, Justice of Appeal; Justice Agnes M. A. Dordzie, Justice of Appeal; Prof. Nil Ashie Kotey, former Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Ghana, Legon; and Nene A. 0. Amegatcherr, Private legal practitioner and former President of the Ghana Bar Association.

“I am, therefore,in accordance with Article 144(2), seeking the approval of Parliament for the appointment of the nominees as Justices of the Supreme Court. Their curricula vitae are hereby attached.

“Mr. Speaker, it is my respectful hope and expectation that the approval of the nominees will proceed expeditiously, to enable them assume office as soon as practicable,” a dispatch to Parliament on July 3, 2018.