You are here: HomeNews2018 05 03Article 648555

General News of Thursday, 3 May 2018


I prefer the 'noisy, boisterous and scurrilous' media of today - Akufo-Addo

President Nana Akufo-Addo has reiterated his preference for a rather ‘noisy’ and ‘boisterous’ media like there is today compared to the monotonous, praise-singing, sycophantic one of former times.

This according to him has to a large extent enriched the nation’s governance through its curiosity, investigative skills, and persistence.

Speaking to Journalists at the World Press Freedom Day Awards Dinner, held at the Kempinski Hotel, on the theme "Keeping Power in Check: Media, Justice and the Rule of Law," the President applauded the fact that Ghanaians are able to freely contribute and give feedback, good or bad, towards government programs and policies.

“Civil society groups are able to interrogate fearlessly government actions and positions, compare them to global best practices and offer views and critics aimed at complementing the efforts of governments,” he added.

He noted that “Political opposition is able to raise decent openly, canvas for alternative viewpoints and by so doing offer our citizens alternatives to consider on all key issues of our national discourse.”

“No wonder Ghana is according to ‘Reporters without Borders’, the number one country in Africa in the global press freedom index,” he said.

President Akufo-Addo further stated that because Ghanaians are determined to build a free, open society with accountable governance, they (Ghanaians) will continue to defend the right to free expression to the very end.

“They have manifested, in the 4th Republic, their deep attachment to the principles of democratic accountability, respect for individual liberties and human rights, and the rule of law.”

He, however, said the country has and will continue to produce intrepid media practitioners such as Elizabeth Ohene, Tommy Thompson, Eben Quarcoo among others.

"Kabral Blay Amihere, Kofi Coomson, Kweku Baako, Kwaku Sakyi Addo, Yao Graham, Kwesi Pratt, Gina Blay, Gabby Otchere Darko, Egbert Faible Jnr, Ken Kuranchie, Anas Aremyaw Anas, Kwami Sefa Kayi, Bernard Avle and Manasseh Azure Awuni who have demonstrated fearless commitment to press freedom, no matter the cost."

Join our Newsletter