You are here: HomeNews2012 12 11Article 259145

General News of Tuesday, 11 December 2012

Source: Chronicle

How the Mighty Fell

The just ended 2012 elections, like all other previous elections held in Ghana since 1992, came along with its casualties for some members of the legislature across the political divide.

The hopes of some incumbents of returning to the august house were dashed, while new entrants wait patiently to take their places in the next Parliament.

Also surprising were some bigwigs in government and the opposition alike who lost their seats in Parliament.

Among the casualty list is deputy Minority Leader from the camp of the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr. Ambrose Dery the Member of Parliament (MP) for Lawra, who lost his seat to the Minister of Justice and Attorney General, Dr. Benjamin Kunbuor of the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) MP for the Navrongo Central constituency, Mr. Kofi Adda, also lost his seat to the Northern Regional Minister, Mark Woyongo.

At the Techiman North constituency, another NPP bigwig, Prof. Ameyaw Akumfi, suffered a major blow when Alex Kyeremeh of the NDC denied the professor his seat in Parliament.

At Akwatia, Dr. Kofi Asare of the NPP lost his seat to Deputy Minister of Tourism Baba Jamal of the NDC.

The NPP Member of Parliament for Evalue-Gwira, Madam Catherine Afeku, also lost her seat to Kweku Tamekyi of the NDC.

The NPP MP for Agona West, Samuel Kweku Obodai, lost his seat to the NDC's Charles Obeng-Inkoom.

At the Agona East Constituency, the NPP Member of Parliament, John Kwesi Agyabeng, lost his seat to the NDC's Queenster Pokua Sawyer.

Andrew Adjei-Yeboah of the NPP lost his seat to deputy Minister of Water Resources, Hanna Louisa Bissiw.

The NPP MP for Binduri, Stephen Yakubu, also lost his seat to Noah Ben Azure of the NDC.

The story was no different in the camp of the ruling National Democratic Congress, which also suffered some major casualties on its MP list.

There was drama at Lower Krobo when the NDC lost to its own in that constituency.

Michael Teye-Nyaunu, the incumbent MP who lost at the primary to Mr. Ebenezer Okletey Terlabi, Deputy Eastern Regional Minister, finally lost his seat to his contender. MTN, as he is popular called, contested his seat as an independent candidate.

Former deputy Minister of Information John Tia Akologo, MP for Talensi in the Upper East Region, lost his seat to Robert Nachinab Doameng Mosore of the New Patriotic Party.

Mr. Moses Asaga, Minister for Employment and MP for Nabdom, lost his seat to Boniface Gambila of the New Patriotic Party.

The NDC Member of Parliament for Jirapa, Francis Bawaana Dakura, also lost his seat to an independent candidate, Paul Derigubaa.

Roads and Transport Minister Mike Hammah suffered a loss when NPP's Alexander Afenyo-Markins wrestled the Efutu seat from him.