You are here: HomeNews2016 10 12Article 476883

General News of Wednesday, 12 October 2016


Ghanaian men don’t respect women – Joyce Aryee

The founder of Salt & Light Ministries Madam Joyce Aryee has slammed men who continuously question the competence and qualification of women who occupy high office in the country.

According to her, there are a lot of incompetent men who are occupying high positions that they do not qualify for or deserve but are not questioned by anybody.

"What I have noticed in Ghana is that Ghanaian men don't respect women. Ghanaian men think women don’t deserve to occupy high positions. Even though some men are incompetent, they still get to occupy very high positions in society but once a woman ascends to high office, questions are asked about her competence and qualification.

“Meanwhile, women never ask those questions about a lot of incompetent men who get to occupy such high offices," Madam Aryee said in an interview on Accra FM.

Her comments come after flagbearer of the All People’s Congress (APC) Hassan Ayariga descended on the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission Charlotte Osei describing her as stupid and foolish after he was disqualified to contest in the upcoming Presidential elections.

Ayariga who was disqualified on Monday with 11 other presidential hopefuls went berserk and attacked the Mrs. Osei threatening to sue the EC and place an injunction on the general elections if he is not reinstated.

The other disqualified presidential candidates include Dr. Edward Mahama of the People's National Convention (PNC); Dr Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP); Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People's Party (IPP); Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD); and Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People's Party (PPP).

The rest are: Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP); Mr Richard Nixon Tetteh (United Development Systems Party); Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP); Thomas Ward-Brew of the Democratic People's Party (DPP); Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate; and Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP).

Join our Newsletter