You are here: HomeNews2018 04 18Article 644101

Politics of Wednesday, 18 April 2018

Source: Daniel Kaku

Ellembelle NPP finally goes to poll to elect new executives today

The election will take place at Axim instead of Ellembelle. The election will take place at Axim instead of Ellembelle.

Over six hundred delegates of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Ellembelle Constituency of the Western Region are to elect executive officers to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years.

The polls suffered a major setback after some disgruntled members filed a court injunction on the conduct of the election of polling station executives in the Constituency.

An out of court settlement was sought by disputing parties after the National Executive Council and Western Regional Executive Committee intervened.

Subsequently, the party’s polling station executives elections took force from the 8 to 12 March 2018.

A total of 24 candidates are battling for 10 executive positions in the Constituency.

The elections which begun today, Wednesday, April 18, 2018, will see a sum of 649 voters comprising of 590 delegates (polling station executives), 16 Constituency Executives, 33 Electoral Area Coordinators, 5 Patrons, and 5 Council of Elders partaking in the election of 10 officials in the following positions; Chairman, 1st Vice Chair, 2nd Vice Chair, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Organiser, Youth Organiser, Treasurer, Women Organiser, and Nasara Coordinator.

The party goes into this crucial election with 118 polling stations.

The Chairmanship race is tight between the incumbent Chairman, Mr. Samuel Akainyah and his main contender, Mr. John Asmah.

The election which was expected to be held in Ellembelle Constituency has been moved to Axim in the Evalue-Gwira Ajomoro Constituency due to a misunderstanding between the aspirants.

Should all go as planned, the elected officials would be given a fair opportunity to participate in the election of Regional Executives, slated for Saturday 21 April 2018 at Tarkwa UMAT's George Grant auditorium.

Speaking to GhanaWeb's Western Regional Correspondent, the Chairman of the Ellembelle NPP Election Committee, Mr. Kwadwo Afari said the delegates' Conference will start at 8:00 am.

He added the registration of delegates will start from 8 am to 9 am, with voting following afterward.

He noted that accreditation will be given to all delegates after registration hence any other person without accreditation will not be allowed to enter the hall.

Find the various candidates and their positions below:

Chairmanship position;

1. Isaac Menla 2. Samuel Akainyah (Incumbent) 3. Samuel Asmah

1st Vice Chairmanship position;

1. Sampson Ndoli 2. Bright Erzah 3. Eunice A. T. Tumi

2nd Vice Chairmanship position;

1. Ebenezer Kofi Armoo 2. James Cobbinah

Secretary position;

1. John Nwolley (Incumbent) 2. Abeka Dauda

Assistant Secretary;

1. Joshua Dadzie 2. Francis Appeni

Organiser position;

1. Osman Idris Ackah 2. Justice Afari 3. Stephen Donkor (Incumbent)

Youth Organiser position;

1. Emmanuel Kwakye 2. Bismark Kojo Arizie Cudjoe (Incumbent)

Women's Organiser position;

1. Benedicta Bervel (Incumbent) 2. Lydia Ewusie 3. Sophia Obeng

Treasure position;

1. Joana Dukeson 2. John Ackah Nyane

Nasara Coordinator position;

1. Essuman Tahiru (Incumbent) 2. Abdulai Osman Abeka.

Join our Newsletter