You are here: HomeNews2018 04 20Article 644729

Politics of Friday, 20 April 2018


Ellembelle NPP Constituency finally elects new executives

Some member of the NPP during a party rally Some member of the NPP during a party rally

The Ellembelle Constituency of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Western Region has finally elected new executives to steer affairs of the party for the next four years.

At the end of the keenly contested election held at Axim Municipal Assembly Hall on Wednesday, April 18, 2018, Mr. Samuel Akainyah emerged victorious in the chairmanship race polling 314 votes to beat his close contender Mr. Samuel Asmah who had 282 votes and Mr. Isaac Menla, who only 33 votes.

The First Vice Chairman position went to Mr. Sampson Ndoli who polled 327 votes, Mr. Bright Erzah (incumbent) who had 282 votes and Mrs. Eunice Tumi also polled 27 votes.

The Second Vice Chairman post went to Mr. James Cobbinah who won with 331 votes as against Mr. Ebenezer Kofi Armoo who polled 303 votes.

The incumbent Secretary, Mr. John Nwolley took the Secretary position with 322 votes as against his main contender, Mr. Abeka Duadu who polled 311 votes.

Mr. Francis Appeni had 333 votes to become the Assistant Secretary beating Mr. Joshua Dadzie who obtained 301 votes.

The Organiser position was won by the incumbent, Mr. Stephen Donkor with 301 votes to beat Mr. Osman Idris Ackah who polled 298 votes and Mr. Justice Afari had 36 votes.

The Women Organiser position was won by the incumbent, Madam Benedicta Bervel with 302 votes to beat Madam Lydia Ewusie who polled 301 votes and Madam Sophia Obeng who also polled 31 votes.

The incumbent Youth Organiser, Mr. Bismark Kojo Arizie took the Youth Organiser position with 322 votes as against Mr. Emmanuel Kwakye who polled 311 votes.

Mr. Abdulai Osman Abeka polled 330 votes to beat the incumbent Nasara Coordinator, Mr. Essuman Tahiru who also polled 301 votes.

The Treasure position went to no candidate after the two candidates ended up in a draw with Mrs. Joana Dukeson having 317 votes and Mr. John Ackah Nyane also polling 317 votes.

Speaking to the media after the election, the Chairman elect , Mr. Samuel Akainyah expressed his profound gratitude to the party delegates and supporters for the massive support given to him and pledged his commitment to work together with all party members.

He said despite the stiffer opposition he had from the District Chief Executive for Ellembelle, Hon Kwasi Bonzoh to oust him as the incumbent Chairman, said he has forgiven him.

"My DCE tried so hard to make sure I lose the seat as an incumbent Chairman but I will not pay him back, I have forgiven him", he said.

He pledged to partner with the DCE and make sure the NPP Ellembelle wins the seat for the first time in the political history of the country.

"My topmost priority is to work hard with the party members to win the Ellembelle seat for the first time", he emphasized.

He, therefore, advised the DCE to stay away from the party's internal matters and concentrate on his DCE work.

"The DCE has involved himself in the party internal matters and from today going I urge him to concentrate on his DCE work and leave the party works to we the Executives", he added.

He concluded by saying the future and the destiny of the great NPP party in the Constituency lies in the hands of all party members hence they cannot afford to disappoint.

"My doors all open to all and I'm going to work hard to increase our Parliamentary and Presidential votes in 2020 general elections and win the Ellembelle seat", he assured.

The Election Committee Chairman, Mr. Kwadwo Afari thanked the contestants for the orderly and peaceful manner they conducted themselves.

He also advised the winners to work together with the other aspirants who lost.

"No one has emerged victorious but all of us, NPP we are one family", he emphasized.

In all, 632 delegates voted for 24 candidates that contested 10 vacant positions in the Constituency which was supervised by Mr. Stephen Aidoo, the District Director of Electoral Commission (EC) in Ellembelle.

After the voting 12 votes were rejected by the Electoral Commission. It was characterized by heavy security presence.

Join our Newsletter