Electoral Commission to create 30 new constituencies | General News 2003-12-24
You are here: HomeNews2003 12 24Article 48810

General News of Wednesday, 24 December 2003

Source: GNA

Electoral Commission to create 30 new constituencies

The Electoral Commission (EC) on Wednesday announced that it was in the process of creating 30 new constituencies for the 2004 Elections and subsequent ones.

In the Western Region the Sekondi constituency is to be split to Sekondi and Essikado/Ketan with their headquarters at Sekondi and Essikado, respectively.

Sefwi-Wiawso is also being split to Sefwi-Wiaso and Sefwi-Akontonbra with their headquarters at Wiaso and Akontonbra, respectively, while Aowin -Suaman becomes Aowin and Suaman with their headquarters at Enchi and Dadieso.

Central Region would have Twifo-Hemang-Lower Denkyira split to Hemang -Lower Dekyira and Twifo East, with their headquarters at Jukwa and Twifo Praso, respectively.

Upper Denkyira becomes Upper Denkyira East and Upper Denkyira West with their headquarters at Dunkwa-On-Offin and Diaso, respectively. In the Greater Accra Region Ada constituency would be split to Ada and Sege, with their headquarters Ada-Foah and Sege, respectively. Ashiaman constituency becomes Ashiaman and Adenta, with their headquarters at Ashiaman and Adenta.

Ga North becomes Abokobi/Madina and Dome Kwabenya with their headquarters at Madina and Kwabenya, respectively.

Ga South is split into Tro-Bu/ Amasaman; Domeabra/Obom and Weija with their headquarters at Amasaman; Obom and Mallam, in that order. In the Volta Region, North Tongu becomes North Tongu and Central Tongu, with their headquarters at Juapong and Adidome, respectively. Nkwanta is split to Nkwanta North and Nkwanta South with their headquarters at Kpasa and Nkwanta, respectively, while Krachi becomes Krachi East and Krachi West, with Dambai and Krachi as their headquarters respectively.

Brim North in the Eastern Region is to be split to Abirem and Ofoase/Ayirebi constituencies, with their headquarters at New Abirem and Akim Ofoase, respectively.

Abuakwa Constituency becomes Abuakwa West and Abuakwa East, with Kibi and Kukurantumi as their headquarters, respectively. The Bantama Constituency in Ashanti Region is to be split to Bantama, Nhyiaeso and Kwadaso with their headquarters at Bantama, Nhyiaeso and Kwadaso in that order.

Manhyia Constituency becomes Manhyia and Asawase, with their headquarters at Manhyia and Asawase, respectively, while Old Tafo/Suame becomes Old Tafo and Suame with their headquarters at Suame and Old Tafo, respectively.

Obuasi Constituency is split to become Obuasi and Akrofuom with Obuasi and Akrofuom as their headquarters, while Kwabre becomes Kwabre East and Kwabre West with Mamponteng and Kodie as their headquarters, respectively.

The Jaman Constituency in the Brong Ahafo Region would become Jaman North and Jaman South with Sampa and Drobo as their headquarters, respectively.

Nkoranza Constituency also becomes Nkoranza North and Nkoranza South with Busunya and Nkoranza as their headquarters, respectively, while Kintampo Constituency becomes Kintanmpo North and Kintampo South with their headquarters at Kintampo and Jama, respectively. In the Northern Region, Gushiegu-Karaga is to be split to Gushiegu and Karaga with their headquarters at Gushiegu and Karaga, respectively.

The existing two constituencies in the Tamale Metropolitan Area would be replaced with Choggu/Sanarigu; Dakpema and Bamvim with their headquarters at Choggu; Dakpema and Bamvim, in that order. Walewale becomes Walewale East and Walewale West with their headquarters at Walewale and Yagaba, respectively.

The Bawku Central Constituency in the Upper East would be split to Bawku Central and Pusiga with their headquarters at Bawku and Pusiga, respectively.

In the Upper West Region, the Wa Central Constituency would become Wa Central and Wa West with their headquarters at Wa and Wechiau, respectively, while Sissala Constituency is split to Sissala East and Sissala West with their headquarters at Tumu and Gwollu, respectively.