You are here: HomeNews2017 07 26Article 563019

General News of Wednesday, 26 July 2017


Education Minister grilled over mission schools

Minister of Education, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh Minister of Education, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh

Member of Parliament (MP) for Asawase constituency in the Ashanti Region, Alhaji Mohammed-Mubarak Muntaka, yesterday quizzed the Minister of Education, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, on the current number of mission schools across the country, and their regional composition.

Answering the question on the floor of Parliament, Dr. Opoku Prempeh disclosed that there are 25,262 mission schools spread all over the country.

“Mr Speaker, out of the 25,262 mission schools, comprises 25,058 basic schools, 145 Senior High Schools (SHSs), 16 Technical Vocational Schools and 43 Tertiary institutions,” he disclosed.

The education minister gave the breakdown as follows: Greater Accra Region has 2,291 basic schools, 15 SHS, 2 Technical Institutes and 10 tertiary institutions.

“Mr Speaker, Ashanti Region tops the list with 4,637 basic schools, 35 SHSs, one (1) technical institute with 12 tertiary institutions. While Eastern Region follow with 3,235 basic schools, 37 SHSs, 3 technical institutes and seven (7) tertiary institutions,” he stressed.

For Western Region, he said, it has 2,848 basic schools, seven (7) SHSs and one (1) tertiary institution, while Northern Region has 2,708 basic schools, six (6) SHSs, two (2) technical institutes and two (2) tertiary institutions with Brong Ahafo having 2,613 basic schools, 16 SHSs, two (2) Technical Institutes and five (5) tertiary institutions.

Others, he said are Central Region which has 2,333 basic schools, 12 SHSs, and one (1) tertiary institution, with Volta Region having 2,278 basic schools, nine (9) SHSs, three (3) technical institutes and four (4) Tertiary institutions.

The rest, he said, are Upper East which has 1,096 basic schools, three (3) SHSs, and one (1) and Upper West also has 1,019 basic schools, five (5) SHSs, two (2) Technical institute and one (1) tertiary institution.

Join our Newsletter