You are here: HomeNews2020 03 31Article 909307

General News of Tuesday, 31 March 2020

Source: Kasapa FM

Coronavirus: Day one of lockdown successful – Lt. Col Owusu Appah

Click to read all about coronavirus →

The Commanding Officer of the 64 Infantry Regiment and current Commander of Operation COVID-19 Safety in Kasoa (Joint Taskforce), Lt. Col. Owusu Appah says the first day of the lockdown has been very successful.

According to him, although there were some initial challenges caused by some civilians he described as indisciplined, the security taskforce made sure that everything was brought under control resulting in an incident-free exercise.

On his side, The Municipal Chief Executive for Awutu Senya East Hon. Michael Assumang Mensah commended the security Officers for the marvelous work done in Kasoa.

He has cautioned all residents of Kasoa to stay at home and spread calm as the lockdown goes on.

President Akufo-Addo last Friday announced a lockdown in Accra and Kumasi Metropolis effective Monday, March 30, 2020 following a spike in cases of the covid-19 pandemic.

The directive affects Accra, Kumasi, Tema, Kasoa among others, declared by the Ghana Health Service(GHS) as the hotspots of the pandemic in the country.

Meanwhile, essential workers have been exempted from the temporary measures announced by the President as the lockdown takes effect Monday dawn.

Ghana’s confirmed cases have scaled up to 152 with four deaths.

Below is a summary of the Restrictions Imposed on Selected Areas in Ghana by Government for 2 weeks.

In Greater Accra, the following areas are affected:

– Accra Metropolis -Tema Metropolis -Tema West -Kpone Katamanso -Krowor -Ledzokuku -Adentan – Ashiaman La-Nkwantanang-Madina -La-Dade-Kotopon -Okaikwei North -Ablekuma North -Ablekuma West -Ablekuma Central -Ayawaso East -Ayawaso North -Ayawaso West -Ayawaso Central -Ga North -Ga West -Ga South -Ga Central Ga East -Korle-Klottey -Weija/Gbawe -Awutu Senya East

In the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area the following areas are affected:

*Kumasi Metropolis; *Asokwa * Suame *Old Tafo *Oforikrom *Asokore Mampong *Kwadaso *Atwima Nwabiagya *Kwabre East *Ejisu *Afigya-Kwabre South *Bosomtwe *Atwima Kwanwoma *Atwima Nwabiagya North

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter