You are here: HomeNews2000 11 14Article 11982

General News of Tuesday, 14 November 2000

Source: GNA

Communities threaten to boycott election

Eight communities in the Fawomanye Electoral Area of the Gomoa District have threatened to boycott next month's poll if the Electoral Commission insists that they belong to the Agona East constituency. They communities are Fawomanye, Kwaafedzi, Asamoakrom Suromanya, Bewadze, Okotokwaa, Otweikwaa and Kwesi-Twikwaa.

This was contained in a petition presented by a delegation of Chiefs to the District Security Committee (DISEC) at Apam on Friday. Protesting against an Agona Swedru High Court ruling that the area is part of Agona District, Nana Asare Ansah II of Gomoa Suromanya and leader of the delegation, argued that they were not heard in the case instituted by the Chief of Agona Kwanyaku.

He said the court gave judgement after hearing only the Kwanyaku Chief and an official of the Electoral Commission. Clad in mourning cloth, they pointed out that "we are from Gomoa and will always want to be identified with our people. Our votes would be for candidates from Gomoa East and not from Agona East".

They urged the authorities to act swiftly to ease tension mounting in the area. Mr. Kow Anyanful, District Chief Executive and Chairman of the DISEC advised them to exercise restraint while a solution is found to the problem.