You are here: HomeNews2015 10 27Article 390084

Politics of Tuesday, 27 October 2015

Source: GNA

Chief elected PM of Dormaa Assembly

Barima Yeboah Kordie, the Aduanahene of the Dormaa Traditional Area, was on Monday, elected as the Presiding Member for the Dormaa Municipal Assembly.

This was after the Assembly had failed to break the deadlock in similar unsuccessful attempts few weeks after its inauguration.

He polled 34 votes, representing 76 per cent out of the total ballot cast, while Mr Edwin Akrasi Tannor, his main contender, polled 11 votes representing 24 per cent during the second round of election.

The third candidate, Mr. Kofi Beneabesi, the immediate past Presiding Member, withdrew his candidature during the second round of election, so did Mr Kwadwo Opuni Frimpong, another contestant.

The election travelled into second round after none of the three candidates failed to obtain the required two-thirds majority to secure a win in the first round.

Prior to the election, Mr Ismail C. Forson Nkrumah, an assembly member for the Adumasa Amasu Electoral Area, had raised objection to the sudden increase of government appointees from 10 to 14, who were selected together with the 30 newly-elected assembly members weeks ago.

Mr. Peter Maala, the Municipal Coordinating Director, had earlier announced that there was an error in the formula used in calculating the number of government appointees selected to the assembly initially.

Explaining reasons for the addition of four new members to the 10 already appointed, Mr. Christian Boafo Offeh, the Municipal Electoral Officer, said the assembly was mandated by the NALAG Act 462, Section 5(1) not to appoint any member not exceeding 30 per cent of the elected house.

He explained that the law gave an upper ceiling within which the Assembly could reach in the choice of its government appointees to serve in the Assembly body.

In his victory speech, Barimah Yeboah Kordie, thanked all and sundry for the confidence reposed in him and asked them for their support to push the development agenda of the Municipality forward.

He was later sworn into office by the Dormaa Circuit Court Judge.

Join our Newsletter