You are here: HomeNews2008 02 05Article 138775

Regional News of Tuesday, 5 February 2008

Source: GNA

Assembly provides potable water to 18 communities

Dunkwa-On-Offin (C/R), Feb 5, GNA - The Upper Denkyira District Assembly is spending more than GH¢160,000 to provide potable water to some communities under its water and sanitation programme.

With partnership from the Community Water and Sanitation Agency (CWSA), the Assembly had constructed 18 boreholes and three hand-dug wells with the boreholes waiting for the installation of pumps. Mr Richard Anane Adabor, District Chief Executive, who announced this at the third ordinary meeting of the first session of the Assembly at Dunkwa-On-Offin, said the project formed the first phase of a sustainable programme to provide potable water for the people. The beneficiary communities include Besease, Twifu-Kyebi, Buabinso, Amobaka, Congo Number One, Gyampokrom, Zion Number One and Anantenten. The rest are Ampabena, Nipanekro, Subin Compound, Yirepe, Nmaatodie, Agyempoma, Kyirepo, Meretweso, Achiase and Anwiamsoh. The DCE said under the second phase of the programme, additional 13 other communities would be provided boreholes and hand-dug wells. They include Akyinekrom, Dabiasem, Compong JSS, Kyerenfem, Tegyamorso, Compound, Burgas Estate and Amoafo. The rest are Presentease, Pokukrom Number One, Nyamebekyere, Siaw and Agave. Mr Adabor said others would also benefit from Small Town Water System to be funded by the European Union. He said Jameso-Nkwanta, Ayanfuri and Diaso were to have benefited from the same facility under an International Development Agency (IDA) programme but those projects had been rolled over to this year. Mr Adabor commended the assembly for its performance in 2007. "The assembly performed creditably well in the execution of the projects," he said.

Join our Newsletter