You are here: HomeNews2015 10 10Article 386801

Politics of Saturday, 10 October 2015

Source: GNA

Assembly functions transparently – DCE

The Tano South District Assembly would continue to execute its mandate transparently without fear or favour, Mr. Bukari Zakari Anaba, the District Chief Executive (DCE), declared on Tuesday.

Speaking during the inauguration of the 56-member Assembly, consisting of 39 elected and 17 government appointees at Bechem in the Brong-Ahafo Region, Mr. Anaba gave the assurance that Management of the Assembly would continue to work with Assembly Members (AMs) to ensure the maintenance of standards in the administration of the district.

The DCE expressed optimism that would guarantee Tano South’s continuous placement at the top of the District League-Table in Ghana by UNICEF and the Centre for Democratic Development (CDD)-Ghana in collaboration with the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development (MLGRD).

Mr. Anaba reminded the AMs and the yet to be inaugurated Town and Area Councils that the directives by the MLGRD for the Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) to hold the national sanitation day on the first Saturday of every month “will be upheld in high eagerness at the grassroots”.

He, therefore, expressed the hope that the AMs, heads of departments, and all stakeholders, would be more committed and dedicated towards the sustenance of such a laudable national exercise in the district, to promote the general health and well-being of the populace.

Touching on the need for efficient, effective and selfless performance for the people and the nation, Mr. Anaba told the AMs of their core responsibilities to be closer to the people by availing themselves as actual spokespersons for them at the Assembly.

“You are to serve your people and country at the local government level in a way and manner that will let the people appreciate the fact that, they are truly participating in the decision-making process and governance of the nation,” the DCE stressed.

Mr. Anthony Kofi Opoku, the Presiding Member (PM) of the previous Assembly was retained unopposed in an election supervised by a two-member team of electoral officials from the EC led by Mr. George Gyabaah, the Regional Director.

Mr. Opoku had 55 yes votes, representing 94.82 per cent, with two against, indicating 0.34 per cent in the election conducted on the basis of the ‘Yes’ and ‘No’ procedure.

Dr. Bernice Adiku Heloo, Deputy Minister of the Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, delivered the presidential inaugural address.

The AMs were sworn into office after they had taken the three official national oaths of allegiance, office and secrecy, by Hajia Yakubu Memunatu Jebune, the Magistrate of the Tano South District Magistrate Court.

Join our Newsletter