Akufo-Addo appoints 4 new Supreme Court Justices | General News 2018-07-03
You are here: HomeNews2018 07 03Article 665443

General News of Tuesday, 3 July 2018

Source: kasapafmonline.com

Akufo-Addo appoints 4 new Supreme Court Justices

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has appointed four new Justices of the Supreme Court.

Pursuant to Article 144 (2) of the Constitution, Nana Akufo-Addo has written to Parliament, seeking the approval of the House for the appointment of the nominees.

The nominees are Justice Samuel K. Marful-Sau, Justice of Appeal; Justice Agnes M.A Dordzie, Justice of Appeal; Prof. Nii Ashie Kotey, former Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Ghana, Legon; and Nene A. O. Amegatcher, private legal practitioner and former president of the Ghana Bar Association.

Nana Akufo-Addo urged parliament in a letter to expedite the approval of the nominees to enable them begin their work as soon as practicable.

The nominees were selected upon the advice of the judicial council and approved by the Council of State.