You are here: HomeNews2018 02 12Article 625718

General News of Monday, 12 February 2018


Akpafu won’t join proposed Oti Region if Hohoe is excluded - Akpafu Chiefs

The Chiefs and People of Akpafu Traditional Area in the Volta Region have mounted stiff opposition against the proposal to split the Hohoe Municipality over the creation of the proposed Oti Region.

They emphasized that it is not in their interest to join the new region, if the entire Hohoe Municipality, which they labored to found and form an integral part of, won’t be added.

According to the Nyifahene of the Akpafu Traditional Area, Nana Aputu I, his area has never been part of petitioners seeking for the territorial split of the Volta Region though they don’t oppose to it.

Speaking at a meeting with the Paramount Chief of the Hohoe Traditional Area, Togbega Gabusu IV, in Hohoe, he explained that 10 Paramount chiefs signed the first petition dated February 3, 1992 presented to the then Chairman of the Provisional National Defense Council (PNDC), Flight Lieutenant Jerry John.

“Ten Paramount Chiefs signed the petition, these are the Krachiwura, Benjamsohene, Atwodehene, Kadjebihene, Buemhene, Omanhene of Nkonya, Omanhene of Tapa, Woraworahene, Omanhene of Likpe and Omanhene of Santrokofi.”

He further stated though the Akpafu Traditional Area was not a signatory to the petition, the area was included in a proposed map for the new region, which was attached to the petition.

Nana Aputu I noted that Akpafu Chiefs registered their disapproval on the inclusion of the Akpafu Traditional Area in the proposed land area for the new region through a petition dated 28th of April, 1992 addressed to Flight Lieutenant Jerry John Rawlings.

“We stated categorically [in the petition] that, where we do not object to the creation of the proposed Region, we wanted to sound a strong cautionary note that it should be formed minus Akpafu lands and its people.”

However, it appears that petition did not receive any prominence, another petition presented to the current Commission of Inquiry into the creation of the new regions chaired by Justice Stephen Brobbey by the Joint Consultative Committee of the Chiefs and people of the proposed Oti Region still has Akpafu Traditional Area in the demarcated area.

That notwithstanding, Nana Aputu I reaffirmed the stance of the Akpafu area to remain attached to the Hohoe Municipality.

“On the present state of affairs concerning the creation of a new region out of the Volta Region, we wish to state that it still our outmost desire not to be part of any region whereby we shall be carved out of Hohoe Municipality which we helped.”

“On the other hand we will willingly join any region which will include Hohoe Municipality in its entirety as an integral part of that region. Our position on this is non negotiable”, he emphasized.

The Paramount Chief of Gbi Traditional Area, Togbega Gabusu VI, who lauded the stance of the Akapafu Chiefs which seeks to maintain the long standing relationship between the two traditional areas.

He debunked media reports stating traditional areas in the Hohoe Municipality owe allegiance to the stool.

Togbega Gabusu asserted that it is prudent the Volta Region is divided into two due to it lengthy state which poses administrative challenges, adding the 25 administrative districts and municipalities in the region should be divided 13-12 among the two regions and christened Volta North and South.

He, therefore, urged residents in the demarcated area to vote ‘yes’ for the creation of the proposed Oti Region in the referendum to be held.