You are here: HomeNews2018 12 17Article 709455

General News of Monday, 17 December 2018


AUCC holds 15th graduation ceremony

The 15th graduation ceremony African University College of Communications (AUCC) came off at the institution's forecourt on Saturday, December 8, 2018.

The guest speaker at the 15th graduation ceremony of the African University College of Communications (AUCC), Dr. Nii Moi Thompson, urged the graduating class to be agents of development both for the nation and for themselves.

He stated:“The joy of graduation is tampered with the uncertainties of life that await you as you go out in search of jobs and once you find any, settle down to raise families and work in various ways towards the development of this dear country of ours.”

Dr. Thompson said this at the forecourt of the university college on Saturday when he addressed the graduands during the ceremony. A total of 338 students graduated in Bachelor of Arts in Communication Studies and Bachelor of Science in Business Administration.

“One of the biggest lessons that life has taught me both at the personal level and within the context of national development is the importance of having a vision, either as an individual, an organisation or a country, and doing everything necessary and possible to realise that vision,” he stressed.

He urged them to emulate the experience of the founder, Kojo Yankah, long before he even became a founder when he was minister of the Central Region over 20 years ago.

In an address, the Chairman of the Governing Council of the University Dr. Joseph Silver Sr. related the graduates to the life of a butterfly as the process of its transformation was never seen as a cocoon, and that their transformation as graduates shouldn’t end there but in all aspects of their life they need to put up their best wherever they find themselves.

He continued by stating that celebrating the hard work of deserving students is the step that we need to take in the country.

Portia Narkie Kumah emerged the overall best student and the best student in Strategic Communications, while Emmanuel Adarkwah won the best student in Banking and Finance, with George Asiedu winning the best student in Accounting. Jessica Johnson won the award for the best student in journalism.