You are here: HomeNews2019 12 30Article 825937

Politics of Monday, 30 December 2019


2019 in Review: Political Parties that joined EC’s list this year

Founder of new political party, Ghana Union Movement, Osofo Kyiriabossom Founder of new political party, Ghana Union Movement, Osofo Kyiriabossom

The Electoral Commission’s list got longer as two new groups aspiring to contest in the political race were given the green light to operate.

The two - Ghana Union Movement (GUM) and Power Unity Party (PUP) were handed their final certificates of registration on November 21, 2019 as part of a partial fulfilment of Section (8) sub-section (2) of the political parties Act 574.

During the presentation of certificates to the parties, Founder of Ghana Union Movement, who doubles as the Head Pastor of Life Assembly Worship Center, Reverend Christian Kwabena Andrews, also known as Osofo Kyiriabossom, stating the reason for the establishment of his party averred that the movement was to revisit developmental agenda of Dr Kwame Nkrumah, notably, industrialization to propel national development.

He continued; “I am not looking for power to make money from the ordinary Ghanaian but rather to help the country envelop with massive development” Meanwhile, slogan for GUM in election 2020 is ‘Arise for Development’.

On the other hand, Pastor Eliahu Boateng who heads Power Unity Party, in a media interaction also noted that his vision is to be the nation’s prophet who will devise ways to make Ghana successful.

The duo, add up to a total of 26 political parties that will be contesting in the 2020 general elections.

Below is a list of registered political parties under the electoral commission:

1. Convention People's Party (CPP)

2. Democratic People's Party (DPP)

3. Democratic Freedom Party (DFP)

4. Eagle Party (EP)

5. Ghana Democratic Republican Party

6. Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP)

7. Ghana National Party (GNP)

8. Ghana Freedom Party (GFP)

9. Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG)

10. National Democratic Congress (NDC)

11. New Patriotic Party (NPP)

12. New Vision Party (NCP)

13. People’s National Convention (PNC)

14. Progressive People's Party (PPP)

15. Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD)

16. UPP 17. United Love Party (ULP)

18. United Front Party (UFP)

19. United Development System Party (UDSP)

20. United Renaissance Party (URP)

21. United Ghana Movement (UGM)

22. Yes People's Party (YPP)

23. All People's Congress (APC)

24. National Democratic Party (NDP)

25. Ghana Union Movement (GUM)

26. Power Unity Party (PUP)

Join our Newsletter