You are here: HomeNews2015 09 18Article 382510

Politics of Friday, 18 September 2015

Source: GNA

120 File for NDC primaries in North

NDC logoNDC logo

A total of 120 aspirants have filed nominations to contest the parliamentary primaries of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in all 31 constituencies in the Northern Region.

The list of aspirants, released in Tamale by Mr Rashid Tanko Computer, Northern Regional Treasurer of the NDC, showed that, at the end of nominations on September 10, 2015, Mr Adam Mutawakilu, incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for Damongo, remained the sole aspirant for the seat, and that, the Wulensi Constituency also recorded one aspirant.

The list also showed that only three women filed to contest the primaries, with Hajia Mary Salifu Boforo, incumbent MP for Savelugu, contending with five others, whiles Hajia Mary Nakobu, District Chief Executive for Chereponi, faces competition from three others for the Chereponi seat, whilst Hajia Azara Mahamudu would need to beat five others to stand on the ticket of the NDC at Tolon Constituency.

Alhaji A.B.A. Fuseini, Deputy Northern Regional Minister and incumbent MP for Sagnarigu faces competition from two other aspirants for the seat whiles Mr Haruna Iddrisu, MP and Minister of Employment and Labour Relations faces competition from one contestant for the Tamale South seat.

Alhaji Inusah Fuseini, MP and Minister of Roads and Highways must beat two challengers to stand as NDC parliamentary candidate for Tamale Central.

Mr Alhassan Suhuyini, a Presenter at Radio Gold in Accra needs to beat six others for the Tamale North Constituency whiles Mr John Abdulai Jinapor, Deputy Minister of Petroleum battles with two others for the Yapei/Kusawgu Constituency.

The rest of the constituencies and the number of aspirants include Bimbilla, eight, Daboya/Mankarigu, five, Mion, seven, Sawla/Kalba, three, Karaga, two, Kpandai, six, Walewale, three, Saboba, two and Kumbungu, five.

The rest are, Tatale/Sangule, three, Zabzugu, two, Bole/Bamboi, two, Salaga South, four, Yagaba/Kubori, two, Yendi, four, Bunkpurugu, eight, Salaga North, two, Nanton, two, Gusheigu four, Nalerigu, five, and Yunyoo, five.

Mr Tanko Computer said the date for vetting of aspirants would soon be communicated to them (aspirants) and the public.

The NDC has set November 7, this year for its presidential and parliamentary primaries to elect a presidential candidate and parliamentary candidates for the December 2016 general election.

Join our Newsletter