You are here: HomeNews2017 04 03Article 524969

General News of Monday, 3 April 2017


11 ministers approved

Parliament on Friday unanimously approved the nominations of four ministers of state-designate and seven deputy ministers-designate after they had gone through the vetting process.

The ministers of state are Adwoa Safo, MP for Dome/Kwabenya, the Office of the President in-charge of Public Procurement; Bryan Acheampong, MP for Abetifi, Office of the President; Prof Kwesi Yankah, the Ministry of Education in-charge of Tertiary and Dr Nura Gyeile, the Ministry of Food and Agriculture.

Others are deputy minister-designate for Finance, Kwaku Agyeman Kwarteng, MP for Obuasi West, deputy minister-designate for Finance, Abena Osei-Asare, MP for Atiwa East and Charles Adu Boahen, another deputy minister-designate for Finance.

The rest of the deputy ministers-designate are Joseph Cudjoe, MP for Effia, Energy; William Owuraku Aidoo, MP for Afigya Kwabre South, Energy; Dr Mohammed Amin Anta, Energy and Henry Quartey, MP for Ayawaso Central, Interior.

Approving their nominations, the minority leader and ranking member of the Appointments Committee, Haruna Iddrisu, said all the ministers of state and deputy ministers-designate distinguished themselves during the vetting.

He particularly praised Adwoa Safo and Prof Kwesi Yankah for the in-depth knowledge of the specific areas they have been assigned and expressed the hope that Adwoa would live up to her words to ensure that all government procurements are open and fair to all Ghanaians, devoid of any corruption.

He also called on the Minister of State going to take charge of Tertiary Education to diligently apply his knowledge and experience gained in the public and private universities to the position he is going to occupy.

Meanwhile, vetting of the deputy ministers-designate, will continue today and tomorrow as the leadership of parliament extends the rising date of the first meeting of the first session of the seventh parliament to Friday, April 7, due to the load of business on hand.

Those expected to appear today before the Appointments Committee are deputy minister-designate for Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Paul Essien, MP for Jomoro; deputy minister-designate for Tourism, Creative Arts and Culture, Dr Ziblim Bari, MP for Gushegu; deputy minister-designate for Local Government and Rural Development, Collins Ntim, MP for Offinso North; deputy minister-designate for Regional Reorganisation, Martin Adjei-Mensah; deputy minister-designate for Food and Agriculture, William Agyapong Quaitoo, MP for Oda and deputy minister-designate for Gender, Children and Social Protection, Gifty Twum-Ampofo, MP for Abuakwa North.

Those appearing tomorrow are deputy minister-designate for Youth and Sports, Pius Enam Hadzide; deputy minister-designate for Monitoring and Evaluation, William Kwasi Sabi MP for Dormaa East; deputy minister-designate for Works and Housing, Freda Prempeh, MP for Tano North; deputy minister-designate for Employment and Labour Relations, Bright Wireko-Brobby, MP for Hemang Lower Denkyira; deputy minister-designate for Trade and Industry, Carlos Kingsley Ahenkorah, MP for Tema West and deputy minister-designate for Fisheries and Aquaculture Development, Francis Kingsley Cudjoe (MP for Ekumfi).

Parliament on Friday also passed the Appropriation Bill for 2017 after the debate of the various budget estimates ended – which will allow the government to spend a total of GH¢64.1 billion as expenditure in the 2017 financial year.