You are here: HomeNews2024 04 28Article 1928232

How mosquitoes saved Ghana from becoming an apartheid country like South Africa - Dr Nyaho-Tamakloe narrates

Read Comments Comments (75)

• Go Away 3 weeks ago

Nsɛm hunu nkoaaa

• @Go Away 3 weeks ago

Go and read about the whiteman’s graveyard. Stupid idiot.

• Efo Juju 3 weeks ago

Were the mosquitoes not there when the Europeans first settled there so many decades ago?

• Who Killed Mills 3 weeks ago

Bill gates wants to kill all our mosquitos by spraying. Should we allow him. ?/???. Can we send some of these mosquitos to addo. Hell no, I don't mean Nketia Asiedu type of mosquito for I will not wish general on anyone. He m ...

• Edem 3 weeks ago

Is it any wonder that those follow-blindly slave-minded NDC uselessnesses wanted to keep the name Flag Staff House and preside over the country from the slave castles. Thank God for Prez. Kuffuor, NPP, Nana Addo, Dr. Bawumia ...

• Ojah 3 weeks ago

@Edem, please tell us, are JUBILEE HOUSE Ghanaian words? Even that house was built with loans from India. What does that tell you? Some of you fool soldiers should stop entertaining us with your stupid statements!

• Koo Sei 3 weeks ago

@Edem, the idiot! Those who engaged in slavery were the ancestors of Asantehene and Akufo Addo. In the 1880s, even when slavery was abolished by the British our own Prempeh were still at it. Do a bit of research and you will ...

• Wonitwaasedi 3 weeks ago

@Koo Sei
    Another sad ass wit who just doesn't know what he's saying.
    So you mean to say your asante diaspora in Trinidad and Tobago for one got there on first class slave caravans or just as one of those recent memory im ...

• Wonitwaasedi 3 weeks ago

"sad ass f#c!< wit" *
    "shut the f#c!< up" *

• smh 3 weeks ago

Nyaho Tamakloe is a forken village man.

• O'Shea 3 weeks ago

It was your grand fathers... the stupid goat thieves and armed robbers of the time that were being sold as slaves and killed for rituals in whatever time you are imagining... no wonder!! Kwasea man!!

• Koo Sei 3 weeks ago

@O shea,.

calling yourself O shea means your brain is wedged between your testicles and your rectum
    No wonder, your comment reflects your gross stupidity. Kwaseato!

• Bitter truth 3 weeks ago

Ghana was a million times better during gold coast than after independence now decades after independence water shortage in accra power shortages Ghana always borrowing our independence was a huge mistake

• Sam Fante warrior. 3 weeks ago

Primitive illiterate forest monkeys in humans form. What did British and Europe did for Ghana ? They built only castles and forth for their slave business and one road from Takoradi to Ashanti region to bring their cocoa. It ...

• Who Killed Mills 3 weeks ago

Bitter truth needs to revise the truth to the real truth. He does not know Nkrumah did those things that he thinks were gold coast. Gold coast it was only the white areas that had those light and water that he is talking abou ...

• SACK OKRAKU NOW 3 weeks ago

AND WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO SEND GHANA FORWARD AGAIN? SO YOU THINK NKRUMAH WOULD HAVE LIVE FOREVER? IF SUCH A DAMN FOOL LIKE YOU IS A NOT PRIMITIVE SAVAGE THEN WHO ELSE? ABOA STOP CALLING YOUR SELF FANTI WARRIOR IF YOU CANT WRI ...

AND WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO SEND GHANA FORWARD AGAIN? SO YOU THINK NKRUMAH WOULD HAVE LIVE FOREVER? IF SUCH A DAMN FOOL LIKE YOU IS NOT A PRIMITIVE SAVAGE THEN WHO ELSE? ABOA STOP CALLING YOUR SELF FANTI WARRIOR IF YOU CANT WRI ...

• Bitter truth#1 3 weeks ago

Reply to bitter truth, u are a donkey, a fool, an imbecile.. I don’t make such stupid utterances..I don’t make such stupid comments.. I comment based on nothing but factual.. Everyone on this platform kno s I don’t make ...

• £EARN, TRAIN, START MAKING REAL MONEY IN 3WKS 3 weeks ago

Do you want to make money this year or end the year poor? Even Michael Jackson sang "you gat to be starting something..." ACT NOW so you don't become a spectator this year. Last year's investors in this skill are reaping now. ...

This story is very true my grandfather always tell me before he died. He always argue that an image of a mosquito should be on our currency and postal stamps.

• MUGU YARO 3 weeks ago

THIS MAN IS A BIG FAT JACK ASS

• SARPONG 3 weeks ago

Massa, say that again ooo. This guy sometimes cash a check before employing his brains. Where were these mosquitoes when the British colonized gold Coast and lived here for decades.

I guess the mosquitoes also got indepen ...

• BOY KOFI 3 weeks ago

Right on point but gold has not saved Ghana like South Africa.Tnx.

• Kuzkuz 3 weeks ago

And how are black South Africans dating now compared to ghana

• Kuzkuz 3 weeks ago

Faring *

• Kofi 3 weeks ago

Were the mosquitoes not there decades before the independence? It was only after Ghana gained independence that the Europeans began to endure mosquito bites?

Why was Kwame Nkrumah not there decades before the white people ? When the natural mystic is blowing a fools can't feel it. God blessed our homeland Ghana.

• Website design services. 3 weeks ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com f ...

• Website design services. 3 weeks ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting. Visit: www.JustracAfrica.com f ...

• Sika mpe dede 3 weeks ago

Insightful, the place was developed for the Europeans and today instead of developing suburbs of Accra to that standards we are rather struggling for already developed areas. Are we really ready to rule ourselves?
    In devel ...

• ghanaba 3 weeks ago

What this man is saying is dam right. I waa kid in cantoments early sixties behind Kofi Baako area to elwack stadium you dare not blow your car horn or whistle , if you are found loitering you will be questioned .wgat is ...

• Efo Juju 3 weeks ago

At that time places like Ridge and Cantonments were places for senior civil servants. It just so happened that most or virtually all senior civil servants at that time were whites. It had a police station and post office ju ...

• Atiabia 3 weeks ago

If he were a kid in Cantonment it means his parents worked and had access there. Nyaho Tamaklo indicated this. The mosquitoes really saved us. Read for understanding, not for comments.

Their plan fell apart.

• NONESENSE TALK! 3 weeks ago

How could the British had instituted apartheid aftrr independebce mosquito or tsetsefly. Apartheid was a 300yr old system not 70yrs.

• Kaakaamotobi 3 weeks ago

Remember South Africa apartied is not 300 yrs....just this 90's oo.....but i disagree with Nyaho on this mosquito thing....when did the white man come to the shores of the then Gold Coast n when did they exit? Is Nyaho saying ...

• Johnny 3 weeks ago

Her er! Apartheid was from 1948 to 1992! But Nyaho is talking non-sylla. Gold coast was a system of dynamic states, and no white settler could have forcibly occupied the place!

• IM 3 weeks ago

Those notorious practices were instituted during the colonial era and the residual effects lingered on even after independence until it was gradually dismantled. Shadows of the evil practices is still with us. Even today the ...

• Mr. Ibu 3 weeks ago

It would have still been better. Go to the Ga communities and see. Do you like what you see over there? Where you have blacks you have filth and mosquitoes. South African cities and Nairobi remain best planned cities in Afric ...

• Xyz 3 weeks ago

Abuaba... wo maame yeh abua paa

• Kk 3 weeks ago

It should rather be mosquitoes prevented Ghana from being developed like South Africa. What have we done with the independence so far?

• Otubuah Siaw-Sappore 3 weeks ago

Well, this is quite not correct.
    After Independence, Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah would not allow that in Ghana. Before Independence, of course, they did what they wanted, even though unsuccessfully.
    Mosquitoes killed them in ...

Only Ashantis forest slave traders like and worship this homosexuals vampires call British and Europeans. Useless self destroyers and nation destroyers.

• Joy 3 weeks ago

You are right tamakloe. Hahahaha.

• Kwaku Mensa 3 weeks ago

That's why they were sending Scottish missionaries and civil servants,those who had mercy on the natives like the Guggisbergs were quickly transferred and dumped somewhere before they could open the eyes of the poor uneducate ...

• Jennifer 3 weeks ago

So there were no mosques before then? To date some British soldiers are operating in developing countries. Are you saying they had negotiations with mosquitoes before settling up camps? Fibs.

They are not fish but human be ...

• Martin Kreisler 3 weeks ago

The British Colony of the Gold Coast was established in 1821, and remained in control and occupation of the territory until our independence in 1957. How is it that the mosquitoes allows them 'undisturbed occupation' for the ...

• Kofi, Zurich - Switzerland 3 weeks ago

This guy is completely useless. I don't understand why Ghanaweb keeps interviewing him. An empty barrel that makes the most noise. He has no useful insights to offer readers... vapid as usual.

Wow very beautiful history of Ghana, God blessed our homeland Ghana. Our mosquitoes will go to all over in Europe, Middle East, America and Caribbeans to kill them more like chickens until they return all our stolen gold, sil ...

• Kwame nkrumah 3 weeks ago

Excellent analysis of environmental

• Ende 3 weeks ago

Lies. It was rather during Nkrumah time that some areas were closed to Ghanaians, especially in Accra. Even fishermen were not allowed to use the places around the Osu Castle. The road from Osu cemetery to Ridge Circle was al ...

• IM 3 weeks ago

Stop your lies. Come to Sekondi right now and you will still find a place called European town. It was created as a segregated community during the colonial era.

• Agbelimor Paris 3 weeks ago

You joke with Nkrumah and Agbeli Gbedemah and that would be your end, haha.I saw bees invaded an entire village for three good months and the whole village became a ghost town.
    Those were the men we are talking about not an ...

• Ochee-Do-Chee 3 weeks ago

EH TAMAKLOE, THE HISTORIAN! SO WHAT BROUGHT THE EUROPEANS, THE AMERICANS AND THE CHINESE BACK TO GHANA AND WEST AFRICA AS A WHOLE? OUR JOLLOF OR 'RED RED'?

• moses 3 weeks ago

Haha thank you mosquitoes

• KWASI IN EUROPE 3 weeks ago

COMPLETE nonsense from Tamakloe. He says he was TOLD which means he didn't witness it himself. I never knew this loud mouth has a small brain. Were the British not in Ghana for many years before independence? Were there no mo ...

• Buga 3 weeks ago

So u mean the British could not get rid of mosquitoes.nonsense.Mr.Tamakloe take a sir and eat Akple.

• Moses 3 weeks ago

Tell us more about white supremacists!

• Kwame 3 weeks ago

Doc , it was the whole of West Africa.

• Jerry 3 weeks ago

Mosquitoes prevent apartheid and everyday people are killing them with sprays and coils. I even thought this man was talking about Asiedu Nketia not knowing he’s talking of the real mosquito. We need to lock up all those m ...

• Dee 3 weeks ago

Haaaaaaaaa

• Kath 3 weeks ago

Sometimes if we talk too much, it gets to a point where when whatever we say makes no sense. I may be wrong!

• Kasapreko 3 weeks ago

Jacob Sey co-founded and then became the first president of Aborigines' Rights Protection Society (ARPS), formed to campaign and voice local opposition to the 1897 Lands Bill being considered by the British colonial governmen ...

• Ex-Pope 3 weeks ago

True story. Those mosquitoes were led in battle by the celebrated Ghana warrior General Mosquito. The battalion of mosquitoes bit the colonial trespassers till they fled back to their European enclave, leaving behind only a h ...

• Agbeli Kumordzi 3 weeks ago

Yet they still They still vontrol Ghana gold mines and the Takoradi oilfield
    Britain looted Ghana gold more that what Ghana government has in the reserves
    Niger stand up to fake democracy
    The citizens are enjoying their o ...

• CAR TRACKER. 3 weeks ago

TRACK your vehicle/motorbike with ease. With Justrac GPS Tracker one can Shutdown engine remotely, Real-time tracking, Voice monitoring, playback route (all by your phone) etc. PRICE: GHS750. Call us today. 0501796870 for mor ...

• Ivor Mensah 3 weeks ago

Nyaho and the bullet proof cap.

• Kwumi 3 weeks ago

What is that means by saying saved the country, can't you see how South Africa was developed by white. Look at how the country is managed by our own people, everything is messed.

• Josh 3 weeks ago

Yes indeed. Same in most of West Africa.
    I understand there used to be a national award in Sierra Leone called "ORDER OF THE MOSQUITO" for the same reason.

• Kweku 3 weeks ago

Dr. You are the most fool

• Boye/California 3 weeks ago

So funny thank you very much for such a wonderful story l never heard this before this is my first time to hear such a wonderful news we must thank the Mosquitoes to kick this bastards away from us Thank you Mr. Tamakloe

• Bro kwesi 3 weeks ago

The mosquitos no good kraaa

• TAN discuss the ramifications of LGBTQ + 3 weeks ago

That’s our biggest bane. We’d have developed by far. We’re exactly as out football teams playing with other competitors and FAILING. Come on Gh, we can do better.

• Elephant Farmer 3 weeks ago

Sekondi in the Western Region has also an European town. The name Blank is standing on an old building. Only one black Mosquito remains.

• GUIDANCE 3 weeks ago

Our history our pride

• Kiki 3 weeks ago

It is only unprofessional and unintelligent journalists who continue to refer to this man as a founding member of the NPP to satisfy their parochial and petty inclinations.
    However, this man has not said anything new for an ...