You are here: HomeNewsCrime & Punishment2024 05 06Article 1929370

US court jails Ghanaian couple 25 years each for murdering five-year-old son

Read Comments Comments (109)

• Sally 3 weeks ago

Asantes are all criminals

• Jennifer 3 weeks ago

Don't disclose your illiteracy/ignorance in public. Names have nothing to do with Nationality or tribe. Not all Johns or James or Paul are English or for that matter Whites. Evil idiot learn

• Prophet Mohammed was a sick dog 3 weeks ago

Islam and crime.......

• Winston 3 weeks ago

If this was Ghana these 2 idiots would be free. America the system is working

• CAPACITOR. 3 weeks ago

MASSA THE POLICE OFFICER, DANIEL PANTELO WHO KILLED THE "I CANT BREATHE" GUY ERIC GARNER IS WALKING A FREE MAN. US HARSH SENTENCES ARE MEANT FOR BLACK PEOPLE NOT FOR WHITES.

• Kofi usa 3 weeks ago

Liar! Dont throw dust into peoples eyes. If it is the minisota case, the ex-police are in jail.

• Mensa 3 weeks ago

The police officer who killed Garner is Derek Chauvin and he is securely behind bars.Please don't confuse anyone

• Forte 3 weeks ago

But OJ Simpson beat a murder case while black and a billionaire honky was sentenced for life imprisonment! It is what it is for sure! Blaming game won’t do shit us!!

• ankoma 3 weeks ago

Winston or Wistonsalem ? Come to Ghana and mess around with crime, you are always tempted to think there are no laws until it has a firm grips on you. USA is not a perfect country just like Ghana. I thank God l now live in Gh ...

• Akwamey 3 weeks ago

JB Danquahs case is still in court, over 7 years on. This is no justice.

• Report the “Prophet Mohammed was a sick dog” individual 3 weeks ago

I am campaigning to encourage Ghanaians to find this individual who posts offensive comments about Moslems and Islam. The implications of what he is doing threatens the peace and security of Ghana. We can argue and insult eac ...

• Mi 3 weeks ago

The accursed fighting the shadow of Islam!

• Bobby Stones 3 weeks ago

Why weren't they given the death sentence, what they did to the poor innocent child was incomprehensible. Subjecting the poor thing to such an inhuman degree of torture. They should have been sent to the gallows, such callous ...

• Deedee 3 weeks ago

The woman should have been given 50years for stupidly & heartlessly allowing a child that came out of her womb go through this ? How can this be a mother& not feel the pain & torment her 5yr old son was going thru till he die ...

• Akuffo 3 weeks ago

Jennifer, why are fools like you still allowed to comment on social media?

• The Spear 3 weeks ago

So why's is that only names with Asante origins are the ones always in the media in the West for wrongdoing?

I repeat, Ghana's name for bad behavior is more in the news in the West than all other African nations combined, ...

• Abusebacktoyou 3 weeks ago

They are asantes don’t run away from that fact.- hypocrite.But the issue is not tribe. Foolish people come from all terrible and race. What they did is despicable - they deserve the punishment. A lesson to all of us.

• Kwame Asante 3 weeks ago

Whatever. Odwae!!!

• Atsu, Ho 3 weeks ago

This is sad and worse still for their other children. What happens to them when the parents go to jail?

• Bangoshey 3 weeks ago

Massa Atsu:

The county/state authorities will place them into the foster-care system!

• okofo 3 weeks ago

Sad, because the foster care is NOT a fair option for the childern

• Abusebacktoyou 3 weeks ago

You think they live in Ghana?

• Dr. Allen Smith Jackson, UK 3 weeks ago

US system is wack, they mostly give serious crime a lesser jail term, the annoying thing is they will be released after 10 or 15 years for good conduct

• BOTH ARE AKANS. NO WONDER! AKANS ARE MERCILESS CRIMINALS. 3 weeks ago

THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN SENTENCED TO DEATH OR SUBJECTED TO WHAT THEIR SON WENT THROUGH BEFORE HE DIED. IT'S CALLED "AN EYE FOR AN EYE, A TOOTH FIR A TOOTH".

WICKED APES! THAT'S WHAT THEIR FELLOW AKAN POLITICIANS ARE DOING TO ...

• Ama 3 weeks ago

I disagree. These parents would have walked away if this had happen in Ghana. Ghana police wouldn’t have done Jack.

• Koliko 3 weeks ago

Ashianti evils parading as Ghanaians

• Odopa 3 weeks ago

Police have arrested a 42 -year- old government teacher for killing his two sons and a daughter in the Akatsi North District in the Volta Region.
    The teacher who teaches in a government school and identified as Kwaku Dordor ...

• Milliseconds 3 weeks ago

Ofuibiba gyimii.

• Forte 3 weeks ago

You cannot even spell out “ Ashanti “! Take it easy bro! Hating and envying won’t put a dime in your pocket!!!!

• Nana Poku 3 weeks ago

Ayigbe ni aboa..Kwasia 3rd citizen

• Ewvevi 3 weeks ago

You allowed a half 3rd citizen to rule you for over 20 years, during which he made your asante royal akwasi agyemang carry toilet on his head, parading through the streets of kumasi. Where was your bravado. Yua big maaf.

• James Nkuah Blay 3 weeks ago

I don't have a dog in your fights, but when it comes to killing, Ewes take the cake. I lived with them in Half Assini and what makes them to kill is that they are unforgiving.

• Adwoa Pinaman 3 weeks ago

James, you're just partially right. They don't only kill if wronged and angry, but do so because they are naturally a very jealous and bitter people.

• okofo 3 weeks ago

Ewvevi, that "3rd citizen" label was uncalled for, but your own opinion in response to that is equally wrong and smack of tribal hate.

• Odopa 3 weeks ago

Sally, are a white person or part of the slaves master concubine left in the plantation?
    You need to educate self that names doesn't mean they are Asantes. They could be from Volta/Togo/Cote D'ivoire/ Fante/ Eastern region ...

• Odopa 3 weeks ago

Child Abuse cut across all tribes, race and religion affiliation. Come to the UK and see how many people are in prison for child abuse.

Basically, MOST Afrikans DO NOT BELIEVE the word CHILD ABUSE and don't have it in our ...

• Odopa 3 weeks ago

Police have arrested a 42 -year- old government teacher for killing his two sons and a daughter in the Akatsi North District in the Volta Region.
    The teacher who teaches in a government school and identified as Kwaku Dordor ...

• Kelly 3 weeks ago

say no to tribalism

• BOTH ARE AKANS. NO WONDER! AKANS ARE MERCILESS CRIMINALS. 3 weeks ago

BOTH ARE AKANS. NO WONDER!

AKANS ARE CAPABLE OF ANY SHIT.

LOOK HOW THE NPP HAS DESTROYED BANKRUPT GHANA AND TURNED GHANAIANS SLAVES OF THE IMF IN THEIR OWNED BACKYARD.

MEANWHILE, AKUFO-ADDO WILL RETIRE ON HIS SALARY ...

• Deedee 3 weeks ago

All women named Sally are silly& should have been called Silly.

• Donatus 3 weeks ago

I read about this story, most unfortunate and pathetic.

• Sally 3 weeks ago

May the soul of that poor chils rest in peace.

• Bestbuy Ent 3 weeks ago

Call us for your catfish fingerlings to start your business. 0557430128/0557078466..

• Tapioka 3 weeks ago

Are you products free? So, are you spamming us here everyday because you want free adverts? Shame on you!

• Tapioka 3 weeks ago

Are your products free? So, why are you spamming us here everyday because you want free adverts? Shame on you!

• Onaapo 3 weeks ago

What a wicked act. May KING SOUL REST IN PERFECT PEACE.
    While the devils ROT IN PRISON.

• Son of sons 3 weeks ago

I hope the root in hell. I know accidents happen at time, however If you cannot take care of a kid, give them up for adoption.

• Killer 3 weeks ago

Next time, KWASEAFOUR

• Odjame 3 weeks ago

My heart bleeds . How can people behaved like that. Animals even protect their offsprings . Can't imagine the pain king went through . God have mercy

• Kofi 3 weeks ago

Same here. I can imagine the pain the little one had to endure. It's a shame

• Anako 3 weeks ago

The malafaka couple chose the wrong state to practice their savagery!

• System 3 weeks ago

God bless America and its justice system. This is what we call justice delivery, very detailed and meticulous.

It is a shame that they taken this animalistic behavior to far away America. When they advised to behave well h ...

• Salacy sathiy 3 weeks ago

Aawww so heart breaking, the innocent child

• yaw cool 3 weeks ago

but Mireku Duker Deputy minister galamsey kingpin

• Boye/California 3 weeks ago

Addae and Valerie what l have to say to this Monster's is Goodbye you guys will Died in Prison just like the Young man died 25 years is very Okay for me to see Pepper Nainama

• Tom 3 weeks ago

King may your soul rest in peace. These two wicked guys should be in jail forever and a lesson to each and everyone. Ghana need such a justice system

• Kobina Ebo 3 weeks ago

King Owusu May your soul rest in perfect peace. Lord have MERCY.

• Jennifer 3 weeks ago

Heart breaking

• Buga 3 weeks ago

Ghanaians are secretly evil.an example is my mum always practicing witchcraft in secret.These people are a curse to these world.May the soul of the young man rest in eternal peace.

• Andrews 3 weeks ago

Mind your language. You cannot generalize Ghanaians in this manner. If your mother as you say is practising whatever you call witchcraft does not imply Ghanaians are the same….nonsense

• NO 3 weeks ago

Sorry to digress but this day and age nobody should accuse anybody of practising witchcraft. It is a fake accusation. No wonder Ghana is waiting for legislation against it soon!! Furthermore if you hurt/harm anybody because o ...

• Joko 3 weeks ago

@Buga make sure nothing happens to your mother otherwise you will rot in jail.

• Afro Values 3 weeks ago

Sad!

• Michael Stone 3 weeks ago

In the U.S if you go to the Emergency ward and you don't have health insurance or money they will treat you for free so I don't understand why they did not take this 5 years old baby to the Emergency ward. Only the 2 married ...

• Kofi Mensah 3 weeks ago

If you take a wounded / beaten child to emergency, they'll definitely want to know the cause of the wounds, something both the mother and step father wanted to avoid.

Second: they did not even take the child to hospital, b ...

• Kofi Illinois 3 weeks ago

Massa, emergency room is not free as you stated. I don’t know what part of the USA you live. If going to the emergency room is free, people won’t have medical debt. Even when you call 911, riding in an ambulance to ...

• Koo Sei 3 weeks ago

@Kofi..... that is the benefit of America"s love for their dog eat dog extreme capitalism. In proper democratic and socially conscious countries such as Britain, Sweden, Denmark, Norway, etc not only is it free to call an amb ...

@ Koo Sei, not food for my thought. I know how the system in those countries are run. You made it sound like I ( Kofi) control or run the US health system.

• Koo Sei 3 weeks ago

@Kofi, thanks for your courteous response. My point is, it tells you what is wrong with the extreme capitalism that permeates American society. It makes my blood boil, when money - obsessed American politicians label fantas ...

• Kwame 3 weeks ago

You see. They used a few weeks for the trial itself and three years for the investigation. In Ghana it is the other way round. Two weeks for the investigation and three years for the trial

• Atsu, Ho 3 weeks ago

Are they really Ghanaians? This is strange to the Ghanaian, beat up a 5 year old child to that extent? No this is bad

• PIUS HADZIDE 3 weeks ago

Yes, they are Asantes

• Joko 3 weeks ago

@Atsu ,Ho. Don't ask silly question, Ghanaians are capable of anything good and evil. Very soon you will say they are Nigerians with Ghanaian passport

• Ivor Mensah 3 weeks ago

Should have been death sentence.

• Sam 3 weeks ago

New York's state death penalty law was found unconstitutional by the state Court of Appeals in 2004.

• WEB SERVICES. 3 weeks ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - eCommerce/Online shop Websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Call us today. 0501796870 for more info. FDG34

• Kofi Amankona 3 weeks ago

These convicts should be brought back to serve their jail term in Ghana prisons!

• Joko 3 weeks ago

@Kofi, are you kidding me??? They will bribe the prisons officers and live a five star life at Nsawam

• Wake up call for Ghana Justice delivery 3 weeks ago

May God bless the justice system of America for punishing the people who maltreated the innocent boy to death. If it had happened in Ghana, the poor boy would have been buried quickly to conceal all the evidence of foul play ...

• Zionism is racism 3 weeks ago

Very sad. May he rest in peace. How come ghanaweb doesn't tell us tribes, although the names are Akan sounding. For certain, they are not fulanis or Arabs or Nigerians.

Does tribe really matter? Why can’t people express their views without mentioning of tribe, NPP and NDC!

• Bella 3 weeks ago

Very sad

• WEB SERVICES. 3 weeks ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - eCommerce/Online shop Websites
    PRICE: 1,500gh. Call us today. 0501796870 for more info. 45F

• Selfmade Smoke Em” 3 weeks ago

Asantes again.

• GH8 3 weeks ago

How about that stupid 'pastor' who shot his estranged beautiful wife in front of her place of work?

• Akajatayogogo 3 weeks ago

That is White man's country,fast sentence..If is Ghana, Akufo Addo will clear them. Cecilia Dapaah steals Our money and she is walking free,I pity Ghana.8 people were killed in Techima,no investigation to prosecute Apuuuu,Bla ...

• Tygar 3 weeks ago

Should have been Ghana like clearing agent will take money and sing praises to them… why not call a chief to beg on your behalf maybe the court will listen to the chief

• Nyansapor 3 weeks ago

Please bring us current news. This is old news Ghana web.

• Accra boys 3 weeks ago

They all Nigerians using Ghana passport ? They are not Ghanaians

• Akwasi 3 weeks ago

Yes! They typically do to blend in with human societies

• Joko 3 weeks ago

Hahaha, I was actually waiting for this one. Crazy people everywhere. RIP King !!!

• KWAADONTO KERSE 3 weeks ago

No matter what the 5 year old did he is still a baby or child. The man should have known better even if he dedicated or urinated on himself. 5 years old boy doesn't know anything. Some 11 to 12 years boys even pee in bed.Peop ...

• KWAADONTO KERSE 3 weeks ago

No matter what the 5 year old did he is still a baby or child. The man should have known better even if he defecated or urinated on himself. 5 years old boy doesn't know anything. Some 11 to 12 years boys even pee in bed.Peop ...

• Accra is dirty.com 3 weeks ago

Se asa! I would have jailed them for life ,bad mother and aggressive step father your life is shattered good enough to become helpless!

• Peace man 3 weeks ago

This is the reason why I don't hit children no matter your offence , just talk to them they will obey . Wicked couples must root in fucking jail. Thank you Mr judge most greatful.

• Livingstone 3 weeks ago

What at all did this innocent boy do that you have to beat him to death? This is bad of you. They should have added more years.

• Solomon London 3 weeks ago

You think USA is like Ghana you will see, killing in Ghana is like killing rat, because you can killed someone and still feel good, sexy Don Don is using 2 phones in prison wow only in Ghana,

• Citizen8 3 weeks ago

Why would a normal person beat his/her innocent 5 year old child to death? If they didn't want the innocent boy why didn't they put him up for adoption? I can't stop crying for this little boy whose life was cut short by his ...

• Kwadwo from oyoko 3 weeks ago

Sally you are very fool

• Ghana 3 weeks ago

Christians commit crimes everyday but people don't attack Christianity but the individual, but immediately a Muslim comits crime, people begin to attack Islam instead of the individual..

• Mark Hall 3 weeks ago

Well done US law.

• Kwaku Ananse 3 weeks ago

FROM?
    ?????

• MK 3 weeks ago

They deserve it. What wickedness is this. Your own child?

• Chris 3 weeks ago

A criminal is responsible of his her crimes not his country or tribe or religion or color of skin ..only the ignorant & illiterate confuses all ... finally the criminal will face prosecution n end up in death raw or jail.

• Mi 3 weeks ago

Can all of us learn a lesson from our comments above? I have seen situations where some people who commit criminal offences and they bear names like Ayariga, Tijani, Mashud, Asibi, etc., are considered to be northerners or Mu ...

• Big Adolf 3 weeks ago

Fools I'll not even read it

• Aja 3 weeks ago

U guys are worse than animals and deserves no leniency

• Hughette 3 weeks ago

Winston you are 100% right

• Free man 3 weeks ago

Hmmm.... Let love lead