You are here: HomeSportsHockey2019 06 18Article 756113

Hockey News of Tuesday, 18 June 2019


CIIS Hockey Fiesta: Edinaman dethrones K Gee while ADISCO makes it four.

The Central region took centre stage last Saturday by claiming gold in both boys and girls division as the fourth edition of the Citizens International Inter-School (CIIS) Hockey fiesta came to an exciting end. The Theodosia Okoh Hockey stadium filled to capacity witnessed one of the best finals in years as Adisadel College for the fourth time in a row picked up the gold medal in the boy's division after a penalty shuffle victory over St Augustine’s College.

The Zebra boys who were down at a point in the game, showed resilience and character as they equalised and went on to win on penalties. The win ensured they clinch the trophy for a record four times.

The jubilation was not over for the Central region, as the girl's division also saw Edinaman SHS pip their counterparts from Yaa Asantewaa girls SHS to the trophy. The girls from Elmima came from a goal down to beat last year’s losing finalist 2-1.

This year’s edition was more competitive as compared to previous editions with all participating schools putting up a great performance. Their respective displays were cheered on by the mammoth crowd present at the Theodosia Okoh Hockey stadium. The spectators were kept on their feet throughout the entire tournament.

The boys division had 11 schools competing who were grouped into two pools; ‘A’ and ‘B’. Pool A comprised Adisadel College, St Peter’s, OWASS, Agotime SHS, Achimota School and PRESEC-Legon while St Augustine’s College, Accra Academy, Prempeh College, Mfantsiman School and Ebenezer SHS made up teams in Pool B. After 25 games, Adisadel and AUGUSCO topped their respective pools setting up a repeat of the 2018 finals with Accra Academy and PRESEC placing second to also fight for the bronze medal.

In the final, the champions were stunned as AUGUSCO took the lead courtesy an expertly converted penalty corner courtesy Godsway Addae. The Santa boys quickly responded and the game had to be decided on penalties. The first four attempts by both schools were brilliantly converted with the fifth and final attempt to decide. Skipper of AUGUSCO missed his and ADISCO scored their fifth to end the competition as champions. The entire stadium was sent into wild celebrations as they climbed their fourth in a row. The Zebra is yet to be defeated.

The girls division also gave a good account with scintillating displays from participating schools. With just seven schools, Pool A was comprised last year silver medalist Yaa Asantewaa Girls, Ebenezer SHS, Mfantsiman and Wesley Girls with defending Champions, Kumasi Girls, Edinaman SHS and Achimota School also in Pool B. Yaa Asantewaa after a shaky start managed to top Pool A with a victory against Ebenezer proving vital and important. The story in Pool B was different with Edinaman dominating to top the pool and set up an epic final with Yaa Asantewaa.

Their display in the pool stage made them favorites to win the competition but a well composed and confident Yaa Asantewaa in to cause a stir. The entire stadium in a shocking mood as YAGHS took the lead from a well composed team goal. Edinaman however did not give up and their efforts paid off; five minutes into the second half and the girls from Elmina had equalised and taken the lead. Yaa Asantewaa fought back to restore parity but to no avail. Final whistle and the trophy was heading to Elmina.

The bronze medal match saw Accra Academy beat PRESEC in the boys division with Ebenezer doing likewise in the girl’s division with a 1-0 win over Kumasi Girls. They came with the intention of retaining the trophy but had to return to Kumasi with a fourth place.

Other winners on the day were OWASS who picked up silver in the Schools Art competiton and Edinaman taking home the gold. Edinaman who were poised to win everything at stake were adjudged the best receptive school during the trophy tour.

The tournaments best player went to Benjamin Kwoffie of ADISCO. The top scorers were AUGUSCO’S Godsway Addae in the boys division and Naomi Tetteh of Edinaman in the girls division. Aside these, schools were presented with hockey equipments; 18 hockey sticks, 8 hockey balls, shin guards and a stick bag as well as decoders from GOTV. The students were also given certificates of participation.

The chairman of the planning committee, Rev Lomo Mainoo thanked all schools for participating as well as the sponsors for their enormous help in making the tournament a success. He also thanked the media and the entire hockey populace for their help and told the general public to watch out for a better and more improved edition next year.

Join our Newsletter